Chess Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is the perfect pie. I have been making pies for over 60 years and had lost my Chess Pie Recipe. This is it. Mine was given to me by a neighbor who had had it handed down to her through family. Follow the recipe exact. I use an immersion blender to mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
as i read on a couple of reviews, the pie should be baked for at least an hour unless it sets before then. I had to check it several times to keep it from burning. otherwise very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was fantastic. Made it on a fluke to replace jello. re calculated the menu to do 120 servings. My staff of 3 ate 1 whole pie. They are picky and if the enjoyed it. The residents will also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thesz

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was absolutely wonderful! Followed instructions exactly (including the 35 min. bake time) and the pie came out perfect. Very rich and sweet. This will become a regular on my menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clk103197

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I;ve never had chess pie, but I was craving a pie and I had all the required ingredients on hand already. The only thing that I didn't have was the white vinegar and I used rice wine vinager instead. Well, it was super sweet! Sweeter than I thought it was going to be. Also, my pie took about an hour to be prefectly set too. It got crunchy on top and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I have never tried this before so i dont have much to compare it to. I like the oven preheat for about 30 minutes before i put the the pie in. At 35 minutes the pie was very runny. I baked it for almost an hour and once it cooled and chilled it cut well but the crust broke up quite a bit. Its very sweet and unless someone requests this pie I dont think i will make I think i would defintely bake it for 1 hour or a little more but i would follow the suggestion of another reviewers and cover the pie with foil so that the crust does not brown or burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanelaBella

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Very good recipe. I've never tried chess pie before, and saw a recipe at my mother-in-law's house. I looked up recipes on line when I got home, and this one had similar ingredients. I'm glad I didn't read the reviews before hand. I let it cook exactly 35 minutes and let it cool about 20 minutes and it is definitely set! It was so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Good, old fashioned chess pie. Exactly as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FarmMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ethridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
The pie was great... My 2yr. old kept asking for more... and he is a very picky eater. My mom could not stop eating, she said it was the best chess pie she had eaten. I made no change to the receipt, it is wonderful as is and I am very picky about desserts. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is the best Chess Pie recipe that I'd found yet and I've been making these for over twenty five years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States