Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Like many other people, I followed this recipe exactly as directed two times and both times it would not set. I think the cooking time is incorrect. I'm never going to follow this recipe again, but if I did, maybe cooking it at 375 for 50 minutes would work because as directed it doesn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This recipe has been passed down for generations on my Mom's side of her very Southern family. The trick to baking this pie completely through is a very simple one. After you bake the pie for 40 minutes at the recommended temperature you simply turn the oven off and leave the pie in the oven. Once the oven has cooled to room temp you remove the pie. This is how my family has baked the pie for as long as I can remember and we've never had a burned pie or a runny center! Hope this helps... It is definately a great pie to enjoy and I feel so bad for those of you who were discouraged by the pie not being completely baked! Give it another try and I promise you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Its a pool of custard liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. After reading reviews, I adjusted the baking time by 20 minutes, still was not done, so I thought, ok, I cannot eat it this way, so I put it back in the oven and changed the temp to 325 for another 30 minutes, finally, I gave up. Pie has not set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I was so intrigued by this recipe and could not figure out how this would taste or how it could be good, based on the ingredients. So naturally I had to try it. I actually made it gluten free to accommodate some family members, simply using a gluten free pre-made pie crust. I also substituted a mixture of apple cider vinegar and lemon juice for the white vinegar, since I forgot to grab it at the store. I am happy to report that this pie is absolutely delicious. Even the kids who were skeptical raved about it after they tried it. It is so rich and satisfying. This has already been requested for Christmas next year. It's definitely going on the holiday menu going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I am attempting this recipe for Thanksgiving. I just put it in with the turkey at 325 degrees for 45 mins...will post pictures with the outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I wanted to fix something like my grandmother used to fix and I tried this. I guess I mixed it too much, it came out smooth on the top and there is WAYYYYY too much sugar in it. I am going to try this again but only using about 1 1/4 cup sugar. Maybe even one cup. Other than that I think once I fiddle with it more that it will be exactly like my grandma's. Thank you so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhotoVirginia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Just like my Grammie used to make. My whole family is so glad I found this recipe. I make it for every family get together and my husband, brother and nephew all INSIST they each have to have one of their own. I usually have to make 5 just so have enough to go around!!!! THANKS so very much!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was an Awesome Pie... My firs time making it and i was impressed.. So was Hubby! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
we had this at Thanksgiving. It was decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

How to Fix Cracked Pie

Cracks in the pie? It’s no crisis. We’ve got great ideas for simple fixes.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States