Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
we had this at Thanksgiving. It was decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Excellent recipe. I never had chess pie before, but found out I sure do love it!! Everyone who had some did too. Had no problem with it....just followed the recipe exactly and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
The recipe do not work for me at all. It had the right consistency, but the taste was a little to eggy. I guess its all according to what your used to in chess pie. My pie firmed around the edges but took forever to firm in the middle leaving me with a slighty burned pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This may be a good pie, but, when I cooked it and let cool, the center was juicy, returned to oven cooked another hour and top turned hard and dark brown, center was still soft. Something is still very wrong with the time or temp....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
this pie is so delicious. the only problem i have is that the top always cracks after it's done. (Does anyone know how to prevent this)? also i think the initial 10 minutes could be increased some to help brown the bottom better. But we love it, and i make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This pie is so good & easy to make .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
I need to work on this recipe. I think it was the cook and not the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
I found that when I followed the directions, the pie wasn't set in the center so I had to return it to the oven. Might want to increase the bake time. Would also suggest that you cover with foil so the top won't brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

How to Fix Cracked Pie

Cracks in the pie? It’s no crisis. We’ve got great ideas for simple fixes.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States