Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I've been making these for years, and they are ALWAYS a hit with everyone who tries them. My boyfriend, who isn't the biggest sweet eater requested them this past x-mas, so easy, and so yummy. I don't top them with confectioner's sugar, they are sweet enough as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This recipe is a disaster. I used only the ingredients recommended and followed the directions exactly. I've even triple-chekced to make sure everything was done perfectly. The cake had a crispy topping that separated from the bottom layer. The bottom layer almost seems too gooey. You've heard of "heart attack on a plate"...well, this is "heart attack in a cake." I should never have chosen a recipe with this much fat and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I modify this using a box of fudge brownie mix, and it's great like that. Also, I do this so people can add a scoop of icecream to it if they choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This tasted like cake mix and butter, both of which are yummy, don't get me wrong, but if I am going to take in this kind of fat and calories it better be fantastic. Next time I'll just have real chess pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Recipe was very good but the crust was not done. And in 1 hr the top seemed like it was burnt. maybe because I use margerine instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
SO YUMMY!!! Chewy, delightful, suprising little thing. Had friends over, they kinda made a face at what it looked like (doesn't look very appealing) BUT once they took a bite, they were hooked. The 3 of them ate the entire pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This cake was good, but very very sweet! If you do not like supersweet, I would pass on this. But the flavor was lovely and it made a toffee-like crust that was like candy. Went over well at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This cake blew my mind, bu yes it is very very sugary and rich. I cooked it ten minutes less than specified to make it slightly gooey. next time I'll use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Rich... sinful...Delicious! They did pull away from the pan, but nothing to worry about. Just watch them and pull them from the oven when the top is nice & brown. Let cool completely before cutting into bars. I keep mine in the refrigerator... makes a great snack anytime of the day! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I could not bring myslef to use 4 cups of sugar in this so I cut it back to about 2 & 1/2 cups. It was plenty sweet! Used neufatchel cheese & yellow cake mix...this cake has great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States