Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a great cake recommend that you use the CLASSIC yellow cake mix instead of the BUTTER RECIPE cake mix because it makes the bottom crust turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy's favs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I have a recipe for this cake we call it "gooey butter cake." Simple, quick, affordable. Oh, and addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is a wonderful cake! To make it a prettier cake you can put pecan halves on top. I sometimes cut this in small squares and place a pecan half on each piece and place on a platter. It makes a much more attractive dessert this way. You really can't beat the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Talladega, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was good. Kind of plain. Guests loved it, even heard it described as heavenly. Seemed a lot like a Neiman Marcus cake but not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Very yummy! I had to make this due to the fact that everyone kept saying it is "ugly". Mine did not turn out ugly?!?! It was great though! I over cooked a bit (my fault) so I will make again soon and try not to overcook. Super easy and yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is such a good recipe. I was wanting to submit this recipe to the site, but after doing a quick search, found it was already here. There are so many variations you can make too. You can use lemon flavored cake mix to make it what my mom calls "lemon squares" or you can follow the recipe posted here and add approx. 2 cups of chocolate chips to the top layer for a chocolately twist. Either way is great! One warning though, this isn't a "normal" cake. If you insert a toothpick to ensure it's thoroughly cooked, it won't come out clean. Look for the top to brown as this is a very gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Great to bring to gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
When the description says it is rich, it isn't kidding. I wasn't expecting it to rise as muchas it did, so it made a mess of the pan. Looks aside, it made for a wonderful dessert for a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I used a lemon cake mix, hoping it would taste like a lemon bar, but it was too cakey. Good flavor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
My entire family loved this cake. It doesn't look fancy or anything, but the cake just seems to melt in your mouth! Make sure you don't over cook this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States