Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Delicious!!! I only made it with 2 cups of sugar & it turned out tasty. I also added vanilla & it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdiaz331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I was so disappointed in how mine turned out. It really just tasted like baked sugar. It was too sweet.I dont know what went wrong. Maybe I should try it again just to be sure because so many others reviewed it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. It was very good. The top did not become golden brown until a full hour had passed but the cake at the bottom was browned instead of light colored as in the picture. It was not gooey like I expected. It was much firmer than I thought it would be after reading reviews. I think I should have moved my oven rack up a little bit and cooked it a little less time. Regardless, I will definitely be making it again and I'll be taking it to work tomorrow to share with colleagues. I'm sure I'll get a thumbs up. My hubby actually liked it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
this recipe is moist and sweet- if you're diabetic, this is not the treat for you. Goes well with milk to offset the sweetness. The recipe turned out well, but I wasn't aware of how sweet it was!!! *_*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This recipe was great. No doubt it's rich, try serving it with fresh raspberries and blueberries - the tastes truly compliment each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is one of my husband's favorites growing up and i was eager to give it a try. The recipe is quite good. I have learned through trial and error that it is best made in a jelly roll pan and cut into cookie sized pieces due to the richness of it. I decrease the baking time to about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I cut back on the baking time and added vanilla and a pinch of salt. Makes an interesting difference, small yet, a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arthur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is a great treat and a permanent item on the menu for the guests - which means I make it at least every 10 days :) However - I wished there would be a rating with "5 stars after little alteration". I had to cut one star off because 4 cups of powdered sugar are way too much. I use only 1 1/2 cups but there are still guests that think the cake is too sweet. I, on the other hand, have a sweet tooth (I can eat sugar cubes like a horse ;) ) and think it is just perfect with the reduced sugar. And - be aware: 1 hour baking time will burn the cake. Better check after 35 to 40 minutes if top is already browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
After reading all of the reviews about sweetness; I used a cake mix with 1/3 less sugar "Classic Yellow." I also decreased the 4 c. confectioner's sugar to 3 cups. I also used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. I was too trifling to go downstairs to our other refrigerator to get more eggs and only used 1 egg in the top layer with a tablespoon of oil (and it didn't even really need that). The dessert came out wonderfully !! I will agree with other reviewers that it is very rich and the baker has to watch the cake for browning and pulling from edges to ensure cake is done (toothpick method will not work). Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIA_26

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
The recipe was easy to make, but it turned out just a bit too greasy for me. I halved the amount of sugar added though, so maybe I should have halved the butter as well for the topping. But... I'm not sure I'll make this again. The bottom of the cake was also a bit coarse/hard in my opinion, and I would have rather had a softer cake on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States