Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
"OH SO EASY - LAST MINUTE" dessert. My husband wanted something that was sweet 'n "wet" in his terms. This one HIT his sweet spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green Thimbles

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I love this cake and have been making it since I was a teenager. None of my friends or family ever heard of it before my mom got the recipe. Now it's a required dessert at every family gathering. The only differences are that I use 1 egg for the bottom and 3 for the top..also, no butter in the top. I'll have to experiment with this version one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made this recipe twice. The first time I added 1 tsp of vanilla extract as another reviewer suggested, and the second I accidentally bought sugar free cake mix and I didn't add the vanilla extract. Both times were a hit! Everybody loved it. I felt like it was a bit too sweet and dense, but I feel like I have a picky palate when it comes to baked goods and I still loved it. It is amazing with ice cream, which helps offset the sweetness if you think it is too strong. All in all, this is a wonderful recipe that I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I was looking for this, but didn't know what it was called. A friend calls it Ugly Cake. We add 1/2 cup of chopped pecans to the cake mix. It makes it extra special. Top layer, we do not add butter and only 1 egg. It is baked at 350 not 325. Best baked in a glass dish sprayed with Pam. Completely cool before cutting. Dynamite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I made this for my husband's office party. He said everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. Although next time I will use less powdered sugar. 4 cups makes the topping almost a little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is one the richest treats I have ever eaten. The family loves it at special occasions. I recommend it for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige Pennington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Easy/fast to make, short list of ingredients, and delicious! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was a great recipe for my family and all the neighbors. Do not expect a nice light cake it is pretty sweet. The neighbor across the street liked it the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Really delicious! Love the eggy-rich-sweet topping. I made it with lemon cake instead of yellow butter cake, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States