Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
My mom and I have been making this for years. The only difference is we only use one egg and a stick of butter with the cake mix and no butter in the cream cheese mixture, then bake at 350 for 35 minutes. Helpful hints ~ if dough is too thick add 1 teaspoon of water and when pressing the dough into your pan, spray your hands with something like Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I'm no baker, so I had no idea what chess cake was - based on the reviews, I gave it a go. I didn't consider, however, that this cake has no frosting; it's hardly a show stopper sitting in the 9x13 pan. This cake was for a baby shower so, I 'frosted' the cake with cool whip, decorated it, and crossed my fingers. Although I think it is far too rich in calories (when I consider how many hours I'd have to workout to burn them off!), people loved the flavor and texture! Some asked what bakery I picked it up at! Fooled them :) Great cake, just lacks appeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I've been making these for 20 years. I am a chocolate person at heart and would choose chocolate anyday over any other food except this. Sounds pretty basic but everything mixed together is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
So rich and sinfull! I used only about half the conf. sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This was a wonderful cake. I made it for a potluck at church and there wasn't a single piece left for me to bring home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
I just brought this cake to a freind's house for dinner. It was great - everyone loved it! I made it almost exactly as the recipe stated...the only thing I changed was that I liberally sprinkled the top with chopped pecans before baking it. I chose it because I had everything I needed already in my pantry and fridge! Thanks!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca DeVries Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I just have to say this recipe is a real winner. I'll be making it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
this is awesome, I have been making it for years, however the recipe I've used only has butter in the base, not the top (in other words, the top is 8 oz cream cheese, 1 lb confectioners sugar, 1 egg (since no butter) and 1 t vanilla). It also has 3/4 c nuts mixed in to the bottom layer. I love this stuff, it's addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
I think I did something wrong with my batch but the flavor was delicious anyway. After about 45 minutes the edges were really brown and pulling away from the sides. The middle never did get really done. It actually made for a nice variety in texture; the edges were chewy and the middle was soft. The taste was good but they did not present well enough for me to give to someone as I had intended. I think I'll try using a glass dish next time for more even baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
Very easy to make. Very rich and satisfying. I added chopped pecans on top and found that I needed to cook it longer than one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States