Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
I just brought this cake to a freind's house for dinner. It was great - everyone loved it! I made it almost exactly as the recipe stated...the only thing I changed was that I liberally sprinkled the top with chopped pecans before baking it. I chose it because I had everything I needed already in my pantry and fridge! Thanks!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca DeVries Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I just have to say this recipe is a real winner. I'll be making it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
this is awesome, I have been making it for years, however the recipe I've used only has butter in the base, not the top (in other words, the top is 8 oz cream cheese, 1 lb confectioners sugar, 1 egg (since no butter) and 1 t vanilla). It also has 3/4 c nuts mixed in to the bottom layer. I love this stuff, it's addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
I think I did something wrong with my batch but the flavor was delicious anyway. After about 45 minutes the edges were really brown and pulling away from the sides. The middle never did get really done. It actually made for a nice variety in texture; the edges were chewy and the middle was soft. The taste was good but they did not present well enough for me to give to someone as I had intended. I think I'll try using a glass dish next time for more even baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
Very easy to make. Very rich and satisfying. I added chopped pecans on top and found that I needed to cook it longer than one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
Extremely rich and sweet, but delicious, nonetheless...a hit in my house...somewhat addicting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This is such a great recipe. I wanted something new for a party this weekend that would be easy to take with me. I cut it up into browniw bars! Everyone ate at least 4 of them, and they also all had to have the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I made this for Christmas Eve and am I'm here to add my rave to the others. I made it exactly as the recipe states, and it was SO SO good. Everyone who tasted it wanted the recipe. I brought the leftovers to work because I couldn't stop eating it, same deal there. This is so easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
This was a wonderful cake, easy to make. I used 12 cup less sugar as suggested, low fat cream cheese, and a generic brand white cake mix instead of yellow. It turned out great. I did take it out of oven 5 mins earlier than recipe said, as it was getting pretty brown and had pulled away from the sides. I like the idea of a cake with no frosting for a change. We had it with coffee and conversation! Perfect! I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
THIS IS A GREAT CKAE. IT IS FULL OF FLAVOR AND VERY MOIST. NEXT TIME I WILL CUT THE SUGAR LIKE SOMEONE ELSE SAID TO DO. WE REALLY ENJOYED THIS CAKE. THANK YOU FOR SHARING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States