Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Super simple and delicious! So much can be done with this recipe to make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Gibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
So good! i only put 2 cups of confectioners' sugar. still turned out yummy! might add vanilla extract next time... very easy to do! Keep in mind the crust mixture is very very sticky...wasnt expecting to spread it out with my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Joaquin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
melts in your mouth! Fix for a crowd because this is a very rich dessert but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grace Moredock
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Love this recipe! Made it for a friend for Thanksgiving and her family loved it! She made it for her son-in-law for his birthday instead of a traditional cake! Only thing I did differently is that my pan was 8 x 10 foil pan and I like it better because got a crust and more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Moredock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chocolate Sundee
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This recipe is rich and bursting with amazing flavor. I made this recipie several times before after asking one of my church members for the name of it and asking her to share same with me. This particular time I added some pure white vanila flavoring I'd brought back from the Dominican Republic that was raw & organic. I also beat the eggs, melted butter or margarine, and the pure white vanila flavoring together prior to me adding the cake mix to it. This cake is a keeper in my household! I rate it FIVE STARS. Chocolate Sundee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jimi Lee
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Turned out lighter and fluffier than most chess cakes. Very yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimi Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This recipe was easy to follow and the result out of the oven was delicious!!!! Any southerner would be proud to serve this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
WAAAAYYYY too sweet and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlene Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This recipe was great! Very easy. Didn't change a thing and found it to be very good. I always buy chess cakes in the bakery and they are very proud of them. Now I have my own recipe and can make it for a 1/4 of the cost to buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is essentially gooey butter cake from St. Louis. When I make it, I let the stick of butter melt in the pan while I mix the cream cheese and 2 eggs with a fork. Sprinkle that over the melted butter and pat down. In the same bowl (no need to wash), combine the cream cheese, 2 Tbsp of butter, the eggs, and powdered sugar. Pour that over the crust. Sprinkle with more powdered sugar. Bake until the crust starts to crack and is golden brown. The edges are the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St. Louis Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States