Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This cake is delicious. I add pecan halves and minus two cups of confectioner's sugar. Great for holiday gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This is a super recipe! It's easy, rich, and liked by all. I'd recommend coating your spatula in cooking spray to make getting the first layer spread into the pan since it's a bit sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Awesome recipe! Used this at a bridal shower actually (not recommended if your guests might be worried about getting powdered sugar on their clothes). Have not had any success with the recipes that add cherries and such to it, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This cake was fabulous!! If you're looking for a beautiful LOOKING cake, this isn't it. If you're looking for an easy cake with a delightfully unique taste, this is the one. The bottom layer has the consistency of a moist cake whereas the top layer has more a pudding-like texture...this is how a chess cake (and pie) is supposed to be. It is absolutely a delicious cake that I will be proud to serve to my inlaws tomorrow. Oh, and I used fat free cream cheese and low fat butter (just added an extra tablespoon of butter in each layer which puts back the liquid that low-fat butter is missing). I also added 3/4 cup of crushed pecans to the top of the bottom layer. I feel that added JUST what the recipe needed to be perfect! By the way, heat it up for a few seconds in the microwave and serve with ice cream. Wonderful! Enjoy! Ally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
It was ok, not what I expected.... I will not make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
My mom and I have been making this for years. The only difference is we only use one egg and a stick of butter with the cake mix and no butter in the cream cheese mixture, then bake at 350 for 35 minutes. Helpful hints ~ if dough is too thick add 1 teaspoon of water and when pressing the dough into your pan, spray your hands with something like Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I'm no baker, so I had no idea what chess cake was - based on the reviews, I gave it a go. I didn't consider, however, that this cake has no frosting; it's hardly a show stopper sitting in the 9x13 pan. This cake was for a baby shower so, I 'frosted' the cake with cool whip, decorated it, and crossed my fingers. Although I think it is far too rich in calories (when I consider how many hours I'd have to workout to burn them off!), people loved the flavor and texture! Some asked what bakery I picked it up at! Fooled them :) Great cake, just lacks appeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I've been making these for 20 years. I am a chocolate person at heart and would choose chocolate anyday over any other food except this. Sounds pretty basic but everything mixed together is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
So rich and sinfull! I used only about half the conf. sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This was a wonderful cake. I made it for a potluck at church and there wasn't a single piece left for me to bring home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States