Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Great to bring to gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
When the description says it is rich, it isn't kidding. I wasn't expecting it to rise as muchas it did, so it made a mess of the pan. Looks aside, it made for a wonderful dessert for a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I used a lemon cake mix, hoping it would taste like a lemon bar, but it was too cakey. Good flavor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
My entire family loved this cake. It doesn't look fancy or anything, but the cake just seems to melt in your mouth! Make sure you don't over cook this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I've been making these for years, and they are ALWAYS a hit with everyone who tries them. My boyfriend, who isn't the biggest sweet eater requested them this past x-mas, so easy, and so yummy. I don't top them with confectioner's sugar, they are sweet enough as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This recipe is a disaster. I used only the ingredients recommended and followed the directions exactly. I've even triple-chekced to make sure everything was done perfectly. The cake had a crispy topping that separated from the bottom layer. The bottom layer almost seems too gooey. You've heard of "heart attack on a plate"...well, this is "heart attack in a cake." I should never have chosen a recipe with this much fat and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I modify this using a box of fudge brownie mix, and it's great like that. Also, I do this so people can add a scoop of icecream to it if they choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This tasted like cake mix and butter, both of which are yummy, don't get me wrong, but if I am going to take in this kind of fat and calories it better be fantastic. Next time I'll just have real chess pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Recipe was very good but the crust was not done. And in 1 hr the top seemed like it was burnt. maybe because I use margerine instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
SO YUMMY!!! Chewy, delightful, suprising little thing. Had friends over, they kinda made a face at what it looked like (doesn't look very appealing) BUT once they took a bite, they were hooked. The 3 of them ate the entire pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States