Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I messed up and cooked this cake at 350 for an hour. It was definately over cooked but still Great!!! I can't wait to make another one for my sister at the right temp. She loves chess pie so I will surprise her with this cake...yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Grange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I made this cake tonite, as directed except baked it @ 340 degrees for 40 minutes... due to oven variation. It was browned on top cooked thruout and absolutely delicious. For those concerned about sweetness, cut back on powdered sugar. I think the recipe is fine as it is !! happy baking !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyclchik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This was soo good! At first, I had a piece right out of the oven and i wasn't very fond of it, but, next day after I warmed a refrigerated piece, it was phenomenal. So rich and I love the toffee like crust on top and custard like center. The only thing I have to say is that it was done way before an hour, only took 45 min. But will make this again, day ahead of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmonie06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I just made this for the first time yesterday and received mixed reviews. I used a lemon cake mix b/c that's what I had. Otherwise I followed the recipe. The cake was done in a hour and held up well when cut but the taste was less than satisfactory. I won't be making this dessert again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a great cake recommend that you use the CLASSIC yellow cake mix instead of the BUTTER RECIPE cake mix because it makes the bottom crust turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy's favs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I have a recipe for this cake we call it "gooey butter cake." Simple, quick, affordable. Oh, and addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is a wonderful cake! To make it a prettier cake you can put pecan halves on top. I sometimes cut this in small squares and place a pecan half on each piece and place on a platter. It makes a much more attractive dessert this way. You really can't beat the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Talladega, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was good. Kind of plain. Guests loved it, even heard it described as heavenly. Seemed a lot like a Neiman Marcus cake but not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Very yummy! I had to make this due to the fact that everyone kept saying it is "ugly". Mine did not turn out ugly?!?! It was great though! I over cooked a bit (my fault) so I will make again soon and try not to overcook. Super easy and yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is such a good recipe. I was wanting to submit this recipe to the site, but after doing a quick search, found it was already here. There are so many variations you can make too. You can use lemon flavored cake mix to make it what my mom calls "lemon squares" or you can follow the recipe posted here and add approx. 2 cups of chocolate chips to the top layer for a chocolately twist. Either way is great! One warning though, this isn't a "normal" cake. If you insert a toothpick to ensure it's thoroughly cooked, it won't come out clean. Look for the top to brown as this is a very gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States