Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
After reading all of the reviews about sweetness; I used a cake mix with 1/3 less sugar "Classic Yellow." I also decreased the 4 c. confectioner's sugar to 3 cups. I also used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. I was too trifling to go downstairs to our other refrigerator to get more eggs and only used 1 egg in the top layer with a tablespoon of oil (and it didn't even really need that). The dessert came out wonderfully !! I will agree with other reviewers that it is very rich and the baker has to watch the cake for browning and pulling from edges to ensure cake is done (toothpick method will not work). Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIA_26

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
The recipe was easy to make, but it turned out just a bit too greasy for me. I halved the amount of sugar added though, so maybe I should have halved the butter as well for the topping. But... I'm not sure I'll make this again. The bottom of the cake was also a bit coarse/hard in my opinion, and I would have rather had a softer cake on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
My son made this for a few friends and apparently it was a hit. We only got to split a small piece that was left. Everyone raved about how good it was. We will definitely be making this again. He followed the recipe all the way except for the confectioners sugar. He used regular sugar and it still turned out good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
My family loves this recipe; we having been making it for years - only we called it Gooey Bars - we added the pecans to the cake mixture before baking. It's great but rich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Based on other reviewers, I decreased confectioners sugar to 3 cups. This is a great dessert, and reminds me of a local Philadelphia favorite called "butter cake", but this isn't as runny and gooey. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I messed up and cooked this cake at 350 for an hour. It was definately over cooked but still Great!!! I can't wait to make another one for my sister at the right temp. She loves chess pie so I will surprise her with this cake...yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Grange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I made this cake tonite, as directed except baked it @ 340 degrees for 40 minutes... due to oven variation. It was browned on top cooked thruout and absolutely delicious. For those concerned about sweetness, cut back on powdered sugar. I think the recipe is fine as it is !! happy baking !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyclchik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This was soo good! At first, I had a piece right out of the oven and i wasn't very fond of it, but, next day after I warmed a refrigerated piece, it was phenomenal. So rich and I love the toffee like crust on top and custard like center. The only thing I have to say is that it was done way before an hour, only took 45 min. But will make this again, day ahead of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmonie Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I just made this for the first time yesterday and received mixed reviews. I used a lemon cake mix b/c that's what I had. Otherwise I followed the recipe. The cake was done in a hour and held up well when cut but the taste was less than satisfactory. I won't be making this dessert again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a great cake recommend that you use the CLASSIC yellow cake mix instead of the BUTTER RECIPE cake mix because it makes the bottom crust turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy's favs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States