Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
this recipe is moist and sweet- if you're diabetic, this is not the treat for you. Goes well with milk to offset the sweetness. The recipe turned out well, but I wasn't aware of how sweet it was!!! *_*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This recipe was great. No doubt it's rich, try serving it with fresh raspberries and blueberries - the tastes truly compliment each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is one of my husband's favorites growing up and i was eager to give it a try. The recipe is quite good. I have learned through trial and error that it is best made in a jelly roll pan and cut into cookie sized pieces due to the richness of it. I decrease the baking time to about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I cut back on the baking time and added vanilla and a pinch of salt. Makes an interesting difference, small yet, a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arthur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is a great treat and a permanent item on the menu for the guests - which means I make it at least every 10 days :) However - I wished there would be a rating with "5 stars after little alteration". I had to cut one star off because 4 cups of powdered sugar are way too much. I use only 1 1/2 cups but there are still guests that think the cake is too sweet. I, on the other hand, have a sweet tooth (I can eat sugar cubes like a horse ;) ) and think it is just perfect with the reduced sugar. And - be aware: 1 hour baking time will burn the cake. Better check after 35 to 40 minutes if top is already browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
After reading all of the reviews about sweetness; I used a cake mix with 1/3 less sugar "Classic Yellow." I also decreased the 4 c. confectioner's sugar to 3 cups. I also used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. I was too trifling to go downstairs to our other refrigerator to get more eggs and only used 1 egg in the top layer with a tablespoon of oil (and it didn't even really need that). The dessert came out wonderfully !! I will agree with other reviewers that it is very rich and the baker has to watch the cake for browning and pulling from edges to ensure cake is done (toothpick method will not work). Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIA_26

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
The recipe was easy to make, but it turned out just a bit too greasy for me. I halved the amount of sugar added though, so maybe I should have halved the butter as well for the topping. But... I'm not sure I'll make this again. The bottom of the cake was also a bit coarse/hard in my opinion, and I would have rather had a softer cake on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
My son made this for a few friends and apparently it was a hit. We only got to split a small piece that was left. Everyone raved about how good it was. We will definitely be making this again. He followed the recipe all the way except for the confectioners sugar. He used regular sugar and it still turned out good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
My family loves this recipe; we having been making it for years - only we called it Gooey Bars - we added the pecans to the cake mixture before baking. It's great but rich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Based on other reviewers, I decreased confectioners sugar to 3 cups. This is a great dessert, and reminds me of a local Philadelphia favorite called "butter cake", but this isn't as runny and gooey. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States