Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I didn't like this receipe very much. The top layer tasted more like egg that butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
a very good cake, absolutely easy and no fuss at all. I used only 1 egg in the top layer, because I had only 3 in the fridge, but it was ok; and less sugar than stated, and it was so sweet all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Easy to make and very yummy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
we loved this cake in my household though some thought that it was too sweet it was gone in a few days, and for a house not big on sweets that's fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Burgin, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I did not care for this cake - way too rich for me and our guests did not go nuts over it. Most couldn't finish the small piece I had served them. Maybe we were just way too full for this but I don't care how full I am - if the dessert rocks I can usually finish it. I won't make it again - thanks for sharing tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Taste just like chess pie, we gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I FOLLOWED THE INSTRUCTIONS to a T and it didnt turn out like i expected the bottom layer was dry cake the top layer mush and all i could taste was sugar i wont be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Delicious!!! I only made it with 2 cups of sugar & it turned out tasty. I also added vanilla & it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdiaz331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I was so disappointed in how mine turned out. It really just tasted like baked sugar. It was too sweet.I dont know what went wrong. Maybe I should try it again just to be sure because so many others reviewed it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. It was very good. The top did not become golden brown until a full hour had passed but the cake at the bottom was browned instead of light colored as in the picture. It was not gooey like I expected. It was much firmer than I thought it would be after reading reviews. I think I should have moved my oven rack up a little bit and cooked it a little less time. Regardless, I will definitely be making it again and I'll be taking it to work tomorrow to share with colleagues. I'm sure I'll get a thumbs up. My hubby actually liked it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States