Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
So good! Although a word to the wise, as others have said, you won't be able to tell when it is done, so WAIT until the top browns at least a little bit and then let the cake set. The first one I made I made this mistake. However, the second was DIVINE. I took it to class for a project. One of the students begged me for the leftovers. I guess I will just have to make another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silenceinwinter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liz_hughes78
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is so rich and so yummy and very easy to make. A lot of people were complaining that this was too 'messy' and they couldn't cut the cake. I didn't have this problem. The only thing I did differently was: I cut about 3/4 cup powdered sugar (and it was still very sweet), I added 1 tsp. vanilla to cream cheese mix for personal preferance, and I only baked for 50 min, rather than 60. I let cool for about an hour before cutting and it came out perfect. Thank you for the awesome recipe!! Will make again for sure and experiment. I think it would be WONDERFUL with fresh berries! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz_hughes78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was great! I took it to a potluck and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Made as is this is a two star recipe. No not pretty but tasted OK - it is sweet and a bit eggy. I think I might like recipes that call for just one or two eggs a bit better. I think an addition of a splash of vanilla wouldn't hurt for the topping. Good advice to spray your hands with vegetable spray or your spatula to get the base in easily. I can see how you could add things to the base like nuts or coconut and play around with the topping - think lemon zest with a lemon cake base. I also think the bake time is a bit long - I should have pulled mine after about 45 minutes and I know my oven temp is right since I moniter it with an oven thermometer. Got a bit brown esp. around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I made this it was good but wayyy too sweet i wont be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyspelts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
basically a blonde brownie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Quick to put together and very rich. I love how the consistency of cake allows it to be cut into bars. It has a custardy feel to it which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This cake is awesome and I got rave reviews about it. The only thing I did was use chocolate cake mix instead of yellow. Next time I will try it with yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin_rage2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raceland, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lockport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
So DELICIOUS! I had no idea what I was in for with this cake, but it did not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Fabulous recipe!! Not pretty to look at but that's part of the fun of this cake. I serve it at the assisted living facility where I work and they think I'm a genius :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States