Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is one the richest treats I have ever eaten. The family loves it at special occasions. I recommend it for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige Pennington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Easy/fast to make, short list of ingredients, and delicious! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was a great recipe for my family and all the neighbors. Do not expect a nice light cake it is pretty sweet. The neighbor across the street liked it the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Really delicious! Love the eggy-rich-sweet topping. I made it with lemon cake instead of yellow butter cake, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Awesome Chess Bars! I call them bars because they are more like that then cake. Very yummy and big hit at family gathering! I only used 3 cups of powdered sugar though. It was plenty sweet enough. Make these and you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLAWS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Was looking for a way to use a Yellow cake mix that I had, and this was perfect because I had all of the other ingredients too. Sauteed some peaches in butter and brown sugar to put over the top of each square along with a scoop of vanilla ice cream...super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
So good! Although a word to the wise, as others have said, you won't be able to tell when it is done, so WAIT until the top browns at least a little bit and then let the cake set. The first one I made I made this mistake. However, the second was DIVINE. I took it to class for a project. One of the students begged me for the leftovers. I guess I will just have to make another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silenceinwinter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liz_hughes78
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is so rich and so yummy and very easy to make. A lot of people were complaining that this was too 'messy' and they couldn't cut the cake. I didn't have this problem. The only thing I did differently was: I cut about 3/4 cup powdered sugar (and it was still very sweet), I added 1 tsp. vanilla to cream cheese mix for personal preferance, and I only baked for 50 min, rather than 60. I let cool for about an hour before cutting and it came out perfect. Thank you for the awesome recipe!! Will make again for sure and experiment. I think it would be WONDERFUL with fresh berries! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz_hughes78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was great! I took it to a potluck and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Made as is this is a two star recipe. No not pretty but tasted OK - it is sweet and a bit eggy. I think I might like recipes that call for just one or two eggs a bit better. I think an addition of a splash of vanilla wouldn't hurt for the topping. Good advice to spray your hands with vegetable spray or your spatula to get the base in easily. I can see how you could add things to the base like nuts or coconut and play around with the topping - think lemon zest with a lemon cake base. I also think the bake time is a bit long - I should have pulled mine after about 45 minutes and I know my oven temp is right since I moniter it with an oven thermometer. Got a bit brown esp. around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States