Chesapeake Bay Stuffed Rockfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was really good. I picked up some Rockfish on sale but wasn't sure what to do with it but I wanted it to be special and not just grilled or something. This was just the recipe I was looking for. We both loved it. I used 1/2 cp of dried bread crumbs and only used about 1/2 lb of crabmeat. It was plenty to fill the 6 fillets I had. 3 were quite small so I just sort of folded them over the stuffing mix. It sounded a bit dry so I also made a creamy white wine sauce to go over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMATECHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I made this exactly as stated except I ended up just topping the fish because mine wouldn't roll either, as another reviewer stated. The recipe is really good. I found out I don't care for rockfish. I saved the recipe because the crab filling will be great in other fish. I agree that it is rich and using a little less would help. The flavor is very tasty though - stuffing definitely gets 5 stars. Next time, I think I will add a couple splashes more hot sauce. If you like medium spice, you won't notice anything with 2 dashes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ93
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This was a wonderful dish. My Dad has had radiation for prostate cancer and can't have hot/spicy stuff, so I left out the hot sauce. But it was delicious and flavorful all the same. I was afraid that the fish would look pretty (as another reviewer said) "sickly" without a coating, so I brushed the outside with butter and sprinkled with paprika. This was a lovely filling that didn't take away from the fish at all. Nice balance. Some kind of sauce probably wouldn't be bad, but wasn't necessary either. The fish was moist and the dish was very satisfying. I paired it with smashed red potatoes and green beans. I will make this again. Thanks to Chesapeake Baybe for the recipe and to Paula who encouraged me to try a dish with no photo (now submitted!) :) I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
made these for my friend Kara and me we loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
AMAZING! Seriously I have never made fish before but my husband caught Rockfish a week ago when he went deep sea fishing. This recipe was easy, fun and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunkissedseashore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Delicious! I wasn't really able to roll the rockfish, so simply topped the crab mixture over the fish and baked it flat. I added a bit extra Old Bay, lemon juice and tabasco at the end for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I give the stuffing 5 stars but the fish only 3. I took the advice of one reviewer and used only about 2/3 of the crab. (I used imitation since I'm in Colorado). It was very yummy but rich. The fish however was bland. I did salt and pepper it before I stuffed it even though the recipe didn't say to. When it was almost done baking I sprinkled some paprika on the top to give some color. It looked sickly without it. Next time I will use some Old Bay on the fish itself. Overall very good and I will make it again. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMY WIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was really rich. I think if I made this again I would only use 1/2 pound of fresh lump crabmeat. Two of my family members enjoyed it and two said they would not want to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very good!!! Added chives on top for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandsurfsun85

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I live on the Chesapeake Bay (Virginia) and this is pretty good! I used freshly caught rockfish from my next door neighbor. I will certainly try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lesandboy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States