Cheryl's Spinach Cheesy Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Omitted the bread crumbs, used fresh spinach (sauteed in a bit of olive oil with sliced mushrooms), used Bertolli garlic and olive oil pasta sauce. Mixed it altogether as one reviewer said, I was too lazy to layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Albritton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by newbiemom
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I'm new at cooking and this recipe is one of the easiest/tastiest I've made so far! I overcooked the cheese a little, but it still tasted delicious! I also used frozen whole spinach leaves cuz I couldn't find chopped (organic). My teenage sister loved it! I dislike cooking, but if there were more easy recipes like this out there I'd probably enjoy making it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
My family enjoyed this meal! I think it could be even better if you season it to suit your tastes, for us that means as much garlic as possible. My husband was disappointed at the lack of meat, but this is definitely a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Great Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Very nice indeed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Made this as written. Was OK, but not repeat worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This will probably be a standard dish in my house when I'm too tired to cook. Super easy. Delicious, but unexciting. Something you can eat on a regular basis but wouldn't make for company or a potluck. I used zucchini instead of spinach, although I would have preferred spinach. (I didn't have any.) Also, I added cubed chicken to the top layer. (two breasts) I cooked it covered except the last 10 minutes. I only used mozzarella cheese and only one layer in the middle, not two. I omitted the cheddar cheese because that seemed to be too many flavors and too cheesy. I think I ended up with the perfect amount of cheesiness and probably used about 12 oz of just mozzarella. Some of my family topped their servings with fresh cilantro and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I made it and my family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren J. Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is edible, but so bland. I added garlic and italian seasoning but it didn't help much. I guess it depends on the pasta sauce you use, I used Muir Glen Organic Tomato Basil sauce. I don't think the sauce was the problem however. I think this just needs way more seasoning and definitely could have used more spinach. Would double next time. Artichokes would be good also. This recipe is a good starting point - but to make it good - it needs changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Use this recipe as a base & go from there. I used my own quick homemade sauce to cut back on sodium, etc. The sauce in itself was seasoned perfectly but when I used it for the recipe I found that it was not seasoned enough as indicated by others. Go heavier. I did lightly saute fresh spinach & even added garlic. I did NOT use all that cheese - maybe 1/2-2/3 of the amount called for. The cheese would only have added FAT - it would not have made a difference with taste. I added a little water to the can of tomatoes that I used & used that with the egg. I did not add the bread crumbs... combo of I forgot & didn't think it would add anything - I could be wrong. So.... go heavier on seasonings/spices because it has to go a long way. Oh... I used corkscrew pasta - good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This recipe was great! I made a couple of changes. I added a pound of mild ground Italian sausage. Also, I used two 24 oz. jars of tomato basil garlic pasta sauce, one 16 oz. box medium shell pasta, and Italian bread crumbs. My husband loved this recipe! This definitely is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States