Cherry Walnut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This is a great cookie for Christmas. It makes alot like any bar cookie and the cherry glaze makes a beautiful presentation on the cookie tray. I like to put the glaze on while the bar arre just a little warm (cool about 25 minutes) that way the glaze really sinks in, don't worry it will setup as it continues to cool. Also finish off with a sprinkling of mini-choco chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Excellent bar cookie. Love the taste of the shortbread base combined with the cherry flavor. Family and friends loved this. It's a great holiday cookie! I've even made it for a Valentine's day party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Delicious! I make these every year at Christmas. It doesn't say in the directions but use just a little of the juice from the cherries in the icing instead of water and the icing turns out beautiful pink and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These are delicious. I used hazelnuts instead of the walnuts because that is what I had and I added more cherries. It didn't look like there would be enough frosting so I added more of the cherry juice to make it thin enough to drizzle, then sprinkled the top with more coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Wow, these were very yummy and I don't like cherries! I felt that the frosting was not enough so I tripled the ingredients and used a tablespoon of butter instead of a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I modified this to use fresh cherries and it's pretty awesome. Up the walnuts and the coconut to 1 cup each and add 2 cups of pitted cherries, quartered. I didn't frost them but if I did I'd use the juice from the fresh cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I used pecans instead of walnuts because I just like the taste better. The larger jar of maraschino cherries worked great. As for the icing. I used 2 Tablespoons of butter and 1 1/2 cups confectioners' sugar with the cherry juice. My mom introduced me to this recipe with the changes. This is positively one of the most delicious desserts I have had. We can't stop eating them. HELP! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great cookie bar for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
These bars are fabulous! My mother used to make a recipe from the 1950s very much like this called Surprise Supreme. I put a thick butter icing on them instead of the cherry glaze! They bring back great memories - I'm in my 50s now - and still enjoy them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Toning down the sugars a bit in this recipe won't hurt it at all... Otherwise, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States