Cherry Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by apedawn
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
nice change for a salad. after reading the reviews about it being too oily, here are my suggestions. first, mix the vinegar, sugar and oregano in a bowl. i measured a 1/4 cup of olive oil and only drizzled it into the vinegar while whisking. when the consistency looks good to you, taste test it and then add either more oil or a splash or 2 more vinegar. I did not use the full 1/4 cup of oil, but that is my personal preference. then add salt & pepper if you like. also, many reviews talked about there being too much dressing and the salad is just sitting in it. once the tomatoes sit in the refrigerator, they release juices...this causes there to be more liquid in the bottom of the bowl, you will have some liquid even if you use a very small amount of dressing. this recipe really is a 5 star for taste, however, due to the instructions i give it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
This is a delicious recipe, assuming you actually like all of the ingredients to start with. I used kalamata olives instead of black olives and subbed some balsamic vinegar for part of the red wine vinegar. My husband and I couldn't stop eating it (so we didn't care if the kids wouldn't touch it). Sprinkled a little feta on top at serving time--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Delicious! Everyone that tried this has loved it. I used grape tomatoes and ¾ cup of green olives instead of 1 cup. This was very easy to prepare. It is also something delicious to make the night before company arrives because it tastes even better the next day after all of the juices marinate! Oh, I also didn’t add the pine nuts until just before serving because I didn’t want them to get soggy while it marinated overnight. Great recipe, I will be making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
I thought the flavors in this were delicious! Such an odd assortment of things to put together, but it was wonderful. One thing to remember, there is A LOT of vinaigrette. I used about half of it and it still was too much. It made the salad taste too oily for my liking. Next time I will use less than 1/4 cup oil and add more later if I need to. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
WOW! I will def. make it again. I needed to make it ahead of time so I prepared all the ingredients except the tomatoes and mixed them in a bowl. Marinated them overnight and then tossed the mix (didn't use all- about 3/4 of it) over the tomatoes 1/2 before serving. By doing this I did not have to put the tomatoes in the refrigerator -which i don't do, they lose flavor- and the salad doesn't get too runny. VERY nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Over the past couple of years I have made this recipe many times and it has become a family favorite. It's especially pretty as a holiday dish because of the red and green colors, and it's wonderful in the summer when we have fresh garden tomatoes. I've added the little yellow tomatoes and green peppers for extra color and the salad always tastes great. I even get requests for this salad when I'm invited to potlucks or parties. I, too, have found that the amount of oil can be reduced without any noticeable effect and I like to increase the amount of vinegar for extra tang. The toasted pine nuts impart a unique (delicious) flavor and are the crowning touch that sets this salad apart from the usual potluck fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Excellent. I used baslamic vinegar instead of red wine. Have made 4 times now. They love it at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alto, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lowell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Scored again! This salad is great. I had my worries because of the ingredients but I was wrong big time. I cannot wait to make this for some friends. The colors together were beautiful. I already had some toasted pine nuts leftover from another recipe so that was a little bit of a time saver. Used grape tomatoes because that is what they had at Sams Club. Also, I had pimento stuffed green olives, whole, not sliced, so I just sliced them and kept the pimentos in the mix. The dressing was the perfect amount. I just love Allrecipes and everyone that contributes. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I was a little worried when I served this at a dinner party for several people who are wonderful cooks. I didn't need to be. The flavors blended beautifully and the nuts added a delightful flavor. I did take the advice of other reviewers and halved the vinaigrette (not just the olive oil) and it worked well. This salad is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Very creative salad and much more interesting than the typical tomato-cucumber variety. Flavorful and colorful melange of ingredients all brought together with a light vinaigrette. I left out the sugar - don't like "sweet" in salads - and I used fresh oregano because I have it in my garden. I took the easy way out with toasting the pine nuts by doing it in the microwave on a paper plate. It was refreshing to have an unboring tomato salad for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Pasta Salad with Avocado, Tomato, & Mozzarella

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States