Cherry Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
We LOVE this recipe. I do usually make a few changes however. I use balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar, basil in place of oregano, and sunflower seeds instead of pine nuts. I have added diced cucumbers, but they seem to get a little lost in the mix. Anyway I fix it, it is always a hit! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this salad this morning for tonights dinner. The only thing was, I didn't have any green onions and my neighborhhod store was out also, darn. I did reduce the amount of oil to 1/4 cup as others recommended and even without the green onions this salad is very good after only a couple of hours of marinating. I then added 2 cloves of minced garlic, about 1/3 cup of crumbled feta cheese and a talespoon of minced fresh basil, as some other reviewers said they had. OMG! I'll definitely be making this often. Thank you Keren! Can hardly wait for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Good use of seasonal tomatoes. I used red, orange & yellow cherry tomatoes so it was very colorful. As suggested by others, I used much less oil and much more vinegar. Also added some basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
My sister made this salad for her 4th of July party and it was a huge hit. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
If you like olives you will love this salad. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I used grape tomatoes. I didn't have any pine nuts, so I used pumpkin seeds. The flavor was light and tasty. My 18 month old loved this salad and so did I. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
FABULOUS! The pine nuts are imperative and really make the salad. I had to sub balsamic for red wine vinegar because that's all I had, but will try the red wine next time. Also, I will definitely reduce the oil considerably as suggested and maybe add the feta on top just to try it out. Very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Yes, it's salty but you can't stop eating it! I didn't have cherry tomatoes so used about six regular ones that I diced, which may have accounted for the salad becoming very wet. I also used Newman's Own Lite Balsamic vinegar instead of the oil, etc., and just a tablespoon or so will do so don't start pouring it on. This would be great with chopped lettuce as a chop-chop salad or with a nice piece of crusty bread. I made the bleu cheese burger recipe and served this as a side dish. If I would have thought ahead and drained it a bit more I would have used it as the condiment for the burgers. Will definitely make again (boyfriend loved it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was way too oily for us. The oil drowned out any other aspect of the salad. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This was good but next time I will definitely cut down on the oil since I thought there was a bit too much. Love the flavor combination - yummy as bruschetta topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States