Cherry Tomato Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was yummy and Oh So EASY which makes it even more yummy. I made it the afternoon before dinner and let it sit in the fridge about 2-3 hours before serving. I thought the mix of lime, basil and sugar was just perfect. I could see throwing some black beans or even maybe brown rice and cooked chicken in here next time to make it more of a one dish meal. Thanks for the great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I altered this a bit by adding black beans and subbing cilantro in for the basil, and it turned out great! I'll probably be making this again soon, since it is a healthy, easy, and fast dish for a busy college student.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Very easy and goes great with BBQ chicken. I addeed some chopped red onion and used cherry tomatoes cut in half. I kept the basil, cilantro would work in this dressing too but my husband was getting tired of cilantro. The basil was actually a nice change. I doubled the amount of lime juice and sugar - then doubled the dressing altogether. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I never heard of corn salad before and I like it! I came across this through an ingredient search and while it wasn't exactly what I had in mind, I thought I'd give it a shot. It's colorful, that's for sure, so it looks really nice on the dinner plate. The dressing is light and refreshing, a nice departure from the heavy, super tangy, vinegar-based dressing you'd expect to see here, and the fresh basil is an important and necessary addition. I used Roma tomatoes, seeded and chopped, and omitted the sugar (never a fan of sugar in any salad!). I didn't see the need to peel the cucumber, tho' I did seed it. In fact, the green peel contributed even more color! Great, light summer cook-out side dish, and comes together in mere minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Ok, I have tried many different salad ideas from this website, and this one takes the cake! I think because I used homegrown corn, tomatoes, and cucumbers, it had such a wonderfully sweet intensity. I stuck to the exact recipe and there really is no reason to change a thing! My only recommendation is to go to a farmers market if you don't have your own garden and buy fresh local produce instead of buying the tasteless tomatoes and corn at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culturecooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This is a great recipe to give a taste of "summer" when there really aren's many summer veggies in season. I used frozen white sweet corn, which worked really well. I love that you can make it well ahead of time, and it keeps well until time to serve. Like some of the other reviewers, I too decided that it needed something to give it more pep and perhaps improve the appearance. I added about 1/2 cup of diced red onion after tasting it, then and about 1/4 pound of baby spinach (the bagged kind) just before serving. This got RAVE reviews at my first dinner party in a very long time. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I believe in reviewing the recipe as written and as written, I believe the dressing is oily and without enough punch. Could definately be improved by increasing the lime juice to equal the oil, add honey and garlic. Also changing basil to cilantro is an excellent idea but as written it's just a little ho hum. Wonderful fresh summer ingredients though and wonderful potential!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
It was a refreshing salad. I used frozen corn that was thawed first. It was ok like that but I prefer corn cooked. I am using this as an idea for roasted tomatoe and corn salad, which is also delicious. I roast the corn and cherry tomatoes with olive oil and dried basil in the oven at 400F for 9 minutes and then toss it with this recipe's vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I made this exactly as the recipe was written and it was delicious. Used fresh basil from my garden and frozen corn. Went perfectly with a summer menu featuring grilled hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I really liked this! I was afraid I woud be missing vinegar in it, but the lime juice and basil really work for a nice flavor. I used white and yellow corn for this and added black pepper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States