Cherry Tomato Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I think this is my new favorite summer recipe for a side dish. I did make some slight changes- I added canned corn, and did not sautee it- was still fine, I added a can of diced tomatoes instead of cherry tomatoes, and I added a can of black beans. Overall it was delicious!!! If I could offer one piece of advice it would be to drain everything thoroughly first. It gets watery fast once the vegetables all start sweating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I used all fresh veggies, and LOVE the appearance of this pretty Summery salad, but the dressing wasn't very appealing to me. After tasting, I tried increasing the lime juice, as it seemed too "oily." It also seemed too salty, so next time I'll decrease the salt to 1/4 tsp. (maybe it just needs to sit for an hour or so, to meld the flavors - ?). I WILL make this again -- (MIGHT try substituting light mayo or Miracle Whip instead of olive oil, decrease salt, increase lime juice, . . . .) I'll keep experimenting with it til I get it to suit my taste, because it is so pretty that it makes an excellent Summer side dish. Oh! and next time I'm going to add black beans (and some coarsely chopped red onion) and garnish with avocado slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This looked like a party in a bowl...a very colorful, festive dish, perfect for a summer kick-off party :) My only stray from the recipe was a pinch of sugar instead of a full teaspoon (not a fan of sugar in salads). The dressing especially was light and tasty. Everyone loved it~ thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I never heard of corn salad before and I like it! I came across this through an ingredient search and while it wasn't exactly what I had in mind, I thought I'd give it a shot. It's colorful, that's for sure, so it looks really nice on the dinner plate. The dressing is light and refreshing, a nice departure from the heavy, super tangy, vinegar-based dressing you'd expect to see here, and the fresh basil is an important and necessary addition. I used Roma tomatoes, seeded and chopped, and omitted the sugar (never a fan of sugar in any salad!). I didn't see the need to peel the cucumber, tho' I did seed it. In fact, the green peel contributed even more color! Great, light summer cook-out side dish, and comes together in mere minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was awesome!!!!! The only thing that I did differenty was use regular diced tomato and added red and yellow bell peppers instead of cucumber. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I made this for a pitch-in, only because I had the ingredients already. I used half yellow corn and half shoe-peg corn for variety. But I, too, thought it lacked flavor, so I added a half cup of Italian dressing. I also took the advice of others and threw in some black beans and crumbled bacon. (Hint: when adding bacon, add at the last minute, otherwise the bacon turns pale and soggy.) I gave it 4 stars only because I thought it lacked flavor. But I will make this again, as it was a hit at the pitch-in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I really liked this! I was afraid I woud be missing vinegar in it, but the lime juice and basil really work for a nice flavor. I used white and yellow corn for this and added black pepper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Very delicious. The sugar and lime juice add a nice touch, and compliment the veggies well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
my family loved this salad, perfect to serve with a heavier main dish. I served this for Valentines day with Artichoke Spinach Lasagna. Be sure to use fresh basil, you wont get the same taste with dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Charles Town, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Easy, healthy, flavorful. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States