Cherry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
What a great addition to any sweet tray. I add a little maraschino cherry juice instead of water in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This was a wonderfully easy recipe anyone can do this... very delicious as well I just have to say I find them a bit runny I think I should mabye have left them in the oven longer and I had to triple the frosting recipe to cover my squares? I don't know what I did there haha.. but really terrific recipe thanks for sharing it was wonderful ... I made this today Christmas eve.. and they are lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I made these yesterday and they are truly delicious and easy to make. Cutting them into bite size pieces is a great idea as they are very rich - but oh so yummy! I followed the suggestion to use cherry juice instead of water in the icing. I love the pretty pink color and extra cherry flavor. I also used almond extract instead of vanilla. I always add almond extract to a cherry pie and thought it would enhance the flavor here as well - and it did. I doubled the recipe, used a 9 x 13 pan and it came out just fine. I didn't double the icing as I thought a glaze was all that was needed on these rich and deicious bars. Thanks for a new holiday favorite, Karen!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suneelady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagler Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
These are sweet, tasty treats. It was not as "cherry" tasting as I would have liked, but it is still good. I used maraschino cherry juice in place of the water in the frosting (to give it a little flavor and a nice pink color) and used about 2.5 T instead of the 1T called for in the recipe. Also-if you want this to stay pretty make sure you let it cool-otherwise you get an ooey gooey mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
These were too sweet even for me. I did like the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
These are very much like a recipe I had years ago. Made by a grocery chain in Halifax, they were my absolute favorite when I had no time and a craving for something indulgent. The only change I made was to substitute the water in the frosting with the maraschino cherry juice and voila!... cherry frosting! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This recipe was simple and turned out great. Very delicious and I'm sure I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
ok this looks and sounds good! but you said cherry frosting. the ingredients are confestioner sugar, butter and vanilla and water. where is the cherry frosting??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
Nice recipe, but i think i did something wrong as they didn't want to stay together very well. Love the taste and the frosting though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
My Mom's hard to beat at cooking, but both of my parents went nuts for these squares...SHE wants the recipee!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States