Cherry Snowballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Fabulous--tastes almost like candy. My husband who doesn't like coconut loved these. A little messy to make--but well worth the trouble! I plan on making these again for Christmas. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
These are a little bit of work to make, but worth it. I rolled half of them in white chocolate for people who didn't like coconut, and they came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These are super, my family is in love with them, I need to make more. Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I wasn't quite sure that mine were turning out when I was rolling them in the coconut, but after they were all said and done, they were great! Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These are so good! We don't like coconut so we just roll in confectioners sugar and I usually halve the cherries or my cookies get too large. Love the almond extract and cherry combo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
These make a great Christmas treat. They take only a few ingredients and are fairly easy to make -- the dough is moist enough to hold to the cherry and shape into balls. They get a little messy with the dipping and coating. Don't try to dip the entire ball; instead, hold the ball by its base and dip the rounded top, then roll in the coconut. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIMPSONVH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
don't be put off by the thought of all that rolling. This is a wonderful dough to work with that stays together and does not have to be refrigerated before making balls. The cookie itself is not very sweet which is a good thing; allows one to be creative with the dipping options. Followed recipe and got 44 balls with pampered chef size small cookie scoop. After draining the cherries I sandwiched them between paper towels while I made the dough. This helped the cherry adhere to the dough while shaping. Lightly floured fingertips and palms while rolling and dough did not stick. Added 1/4 tsp. almond extract to the dough with the vanilla. Instead of adding milk to the coating, I had some french vanilla coffeemate that I used instead. Cookie presents so well, very festive for the holidays, and even with the coating and coconut, it is not sickening sweet. Perfect little holiday cookie. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Intrigued by tunisianswife's review, I gave these a try, and what a great recipe--instructions were perfect, cooking time just right, and the dough was very easy to work with. I halved the recipe, ground my oatmeal and added about 1/4 cup of pecans, chopped fine. I had no trouble using a tablespoon of dough, made it into a little circle, made a little "bed" in the middle for the cherry, and lightly formed the dough up & around the cherry. Halving the recipe gave me 16 "balls". After baking, dipped into an icing of powdered sugar thinned with maraschino cherry juice and a little evap milk. Delicious! Not too sweet and a nice buttery texture. I think it will be a versatile recipe--I can see it with an indentation for a dab of chocolate frosting or with chopped cherries mixed into the dough. Thank you, Evy Adams, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I love this cookie. This will be added to my Christmas baking list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ptbssg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I thought these cookies were a bit dry, but others seemed to like them pretty well. I did half of them with the glaze and then dipped the other half in chocolate. The chocolate ones were my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States