Cherry Snowballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
These are nice to make around Xmas time. I made these a few yrs ago for a Xmas potluck and everyone always seemed surprised with the cherry in the middle. Plus I knew that nobody would have the same as me. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teffy
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was one of the recipes I tried for Christmas baking 2009. They were a little messy to make at the end, but tasted good. I found the coating didn't stick the greatest so I made it a bit thicker. They were a pretty and different addition to my Christmas baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Not overly sweet... A very good cookie, and the cherry in the middle is a fun little surprise. They were pretty time consuming for me, though, so I probably will only make them during Christmas baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbbyMP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made these for Christmas; they were great! I did not roll in coconut, but drizzled icing over them after they cooled on the rack, with a lined cookie sheet underneath; easy clean up! With previous comments about being bland, I used amaretto liquor to flavor the icing; very tasty! Also I suggest using smallest amount of dough needed to cover the cherry, as I struggled keeping the amounts even between dough and cherries. And this corresponds to other comments about one bite with a cherry and one bite of dough! I agree, these cookies don't have a lot of flavor unless you tweak the icing or add more to the dough, but given all the other flavors at Christmastime, I liked the simple taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very very tasty cookie. This recipe was easy to prepare but it did take time (well worth it). I added cherry juice to the icing and did leave the coconut off of some. I can not wait till next Christmas to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Thank you for this recipe! So easy, and soooo delicious! I've never made cookies from scratch and wanted to bring something special for my family on Christmas Day dinner. It was a big hit! After several "yums" and "ooohh my's," several people at the table asked for the recipe. I conceded that it was not of my own creation, and directed them to your recipe here on AllRecipes. You've allowed me to show affection for my family through baking, and for that I thank you! A definite five star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made these cookies with some hestitation because I am not a big cherry fan. I love these cookies. They are so easy to make. I also put some of the cherry juice in the frosting. These cookies are so easy to make and they look lovely when being served. Thanks for this Evy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I kneaded the dough between my fingers to work the butter in better to make it less dry, and then worked each ball of dough before stuffing it. They held together but (not counting the coconut) were crumbly to eat. The flavor was somewhat bland. Could maybe use more vanilla or almond extract or cinnamon. My snowballs were toastier than in the picture but it still made a pretty cookie. I had a small amount of chocolate chips left over in the cupboard so stuffed some of the dough with those (6 morsels each). It worked out well with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Before making these I read some of the "most helpful" reviews. I always try to do that especially when I am doubling a recipe and making Christmas goodies to give out. Great idea to add flavored creamer for the icing and I just happened to have Coffee Mate's coconut cream creamer (my fave) on hand. It made a great coconutty icing. With all the reviews regarding the blandness of the dough, I did double the powdered sugar. I decided to add cherry flavoring to the dough but couldn't find any at the market so I opted for the almond flavoring. I added 3 tsp almond and one tsp vanilla. (Remember I doubled the recipe so I think that adding 2 tsp almond extract to a single batch would work well) Replaced the water with cherry juice in the dough. The dough was very good and not bland at all. I found out after the first ones came out of the oven that you should really follow the directions in terms of measuring the dough to roll around the cherry. It makes the cookie bite size and you don't end up getting one bite with a cherry and one bite without. Make sure you don't get your icing too thin or it will run off the top of the cookie after it is dipped in icing and coconut. Chop up your coconut in a processor or blender until it is pretty fine. Place your drained cherries in between paper towels to dry the juice completely before rolling. Make sure your butter (and dough) is at room temp or melted before creaming. Time is perfect. They are delicious and very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I had a feeling this wasn't going to work out because the dough seemed too dry and crumbly. After baking most of the balls cracked or fell apart. The few that weren't I went ahead and dipped them in the coating... Looks nothing like the picture! The only change I made in the recipe was to use candied cherries instead of maraschino because that was what I had on hand. The taste wasn't great either. I am highly disappointed by this recipe, since I will have to throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States