Cherry Snowballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
These were yummy and fun. Definitely a good addition to the cookie plate. I found that to get the cherry inside the dough, roll the dough into a small ball, flatten it in your palm. Make a little indent in the flattened dough with your thumb, place the cherry in the indent and fold the dough over the cherry. Roll it in your hand to close the seams and you're done. Even my 4 year old could do it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I had high hopes for these but they were just average. I used cherry juice instead of water and would do that again. I would also try adding quite a bit of powdered sugar to the dough and maybe cherry juice to the coating. Definitely grind your coconut before rolling. The dough was pretty easy to work with and I used as little of the dough as possible around each cherry. Not so sure this one is worth the effort. Maybe just making a ball that you flatten in the middle to hold a cherry and then spread with the coating stuff and top with cocnut. Hmmmmmm, yes I think THAT might be worth it...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Great cookies! We even made some without coconut (for our daughter who doesn't like it) and those tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
These were pretty and fun and got rave reviews. Cherry and coconut go so well together. Personally I thought they were too sweet. I will probably use much less sugar in the dough next time, the cherry and sugar glaze have plenty of sweetness. I also probably will only bother with these on special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
did not like these at all....different strokes for different folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
these came out beautiful! I have to post my picture. They were yummy, easier to make then i thought they would be. very successful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Wilmoth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was a WHOLE lot of work for an average cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These are pretty good. Not the most popular recipe I made, but something a bit different. They went together quite easy. I did use cherry juice in place of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These were easy and cute but not very tasty. The shortbread dough needs improvement - the oatmeal is a No, boost flavoring also either butter flavor or almond or vanilla extract, it also needs a tad more sugar... in other words the shortbread should be able to stand alone. The cherry center, no matter how well-drained, will come out with the first bite leaving no cherry for the other half of the cookie. It might be an improvement to chop the cherries and add to the shortbread dough. The snowball idea with the coconut is cute but I really think a flat cookie painted with a little of the icing and sprinkled with coconut would suffice particularly if the shortbread carried it's weight. I might try again with changes but not as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Decent, but not a wow cookie and not adding to my assortment next year. Also wrapped a hersehy kiss instead of cherry which was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States