Cherry Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
These rum balls are much dryer than most. I made them ahead of time but quite was worried that they would be completly dryed out by the time I had to serve them guests. The flavour was okay, though. I think I would add extra chocolate chips and some more corn syrup if I made them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
Very tastey and not as sweet as some. I put the piece of cherry in the middle and wrapped the dough around. Makes a large batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Very quick and easy to make. A bit rich, but everyone loved them. I would probably quarter the cherries rather than half them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
FUNNY STORY! WE WATCHED THE VIDEO OF CHRISTMAS FROM LAST YEAR, AND MY 8 YEAR OLD WASN'T IN A SHOT WITHOUT A RUM BALL! VERY YUMMY AND THE KIDS MIGHT PROTEST IF I DON'T MAKE THEM AGAIN THIS YEAR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
i used marichino cherries with the stems. they are a little juicier than the candied cherries and easier to coat because of the stem. I seal them in an air tight container for a few weeks before giving away and the cherries soak in the rum or brandy and the cookie part stays moist because of the cherry juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I LOVED these! I've also used Amaretto and Jack Daniels in place of the rum and they turned out great. One bit of advice: Use disposable gloves when rolling the balls -- it's more sanitary and doesn't make such a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
I gave tins of these as holiday gifts for co-workers, and they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIGARBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
These are super fun to make and quite simple since they don't require baking. I highly recommend letting them rest for a couple of days in an airtight container - the cherry and rum flavors really open up. The texture is lovely as well - a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
These are really wonderful. I make rum balls every year and decided to try thes and a couple other new recipes. The only thing I did differently, was to chop the cherries, and add a smidgen of Almond extract. Quite lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These are delicious! I'm seriously contemplating on whether I'll have a rum ball face-off with my mother-in-law using this recipe! I didn't have the candied cherries, so I used maraschino cherries instead. Yum Yum! This will be a new holiday tradition for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Dooney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States