Cherry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I've been making a recipe similair to this for years and it's excellent. I chop and freeze rhubarb in the summer and am able to make it all year long. I just add the rhubarb frozen and it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
We liked this cherry & rhubarb combination a lot. The crust/topping is excellent. Since we like things a little less sweet I cut the brown sugar to 2/3 cup (from 1 cup) and added 1/3 c extra oats in the crust. I also would recommend using the "extra fruit" version of cherry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
What a great dessert! I took this to a potluck BBQ and received rave reviews. It was more popular than the brownies. One suggestion is to use sliced almonds mixed in with the crumb topping. It's great eye appeal as well as cruncy and tasty. I served this straight from the oven and it was "soupy". The next time I will refrigerate it prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
i used frozen cherries - drained and used the juice in place of the water- added more than 1 cup of juice and increased the cornstarch to thicken juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I expected a more rhubarb-y taste and more crunch. I think if I made this again I'd put in more rhubarb and double the topping. The walnuts are really nice, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was really great and easy to prepare. The only complaint was that I thought the sweetness overpowered the tartness of the rhubarb; we prefer a bit more of a tart rhubarb dessert so I'll probably cut down on the sugar next time. Just a family preference - don't hesitate to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
my husband and I loved this recipe and have made it twice. I was a little skeptical of the basil but put it in anyway. My advice, DON'T leave it out!! It really does add a special flavor to the crisp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitewater, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This is fabulous and easy! We were short on nuts, so used a mixture of walnuts & pecans to make up the full amount. Very, very good with whipped cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I just made this for a family pot luck and it was a huge hit! I doubled the cherries and mixed the rhubarb with the cherries instead of layering the rhubarb in first. I've never liked rhubarb much, but this was delicious! I also used steel cut oats because I didn't have rolled oats. It gave it a very nutty texture, next time I'll try it with the rolled oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe was great! Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States