Cherry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Wow, this is soooo good. I was worried about it being overly sweet but I didn't think it was. I served it hot with ice cream. Yum! I may add more almond flavoring the next time as it didn't seem enough. I also used almonds instead of walnuts which made more sense to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I like fast and easy so I cut the butter with the flour, salt, and brown sugar in a food processor, then mixed in the oats. Even people who dislike rhubarb will probably like this. Like all crisps, we liked it served with vanilla ice cream. We thought it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Fantastic recipe. My husband is afraid of rhubarb and yet, he was eating this right up. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is in incredibly wonderful recipe. I made the cherry pie filling from scratch since I had some tart cherries. My husband was thrilled with his birthday dessert and our guests had third helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I really liked this combo though I did make a few changes to suit my hubby's diet. I used 1/2 cup dark brown sugar in the crisp crust. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the flour/oat mixture. I reduced the water in the slurry to 2/3 cup and then stirred in the cherries and the rhubarb into the slurry, altogether skipping the layer of rhubarb. I used 2/3 cups splenda in the slurry instead of sugar too. Next time I make this I will use 6 to 8 cups rhubarb since we love it. I also would be inclined to put all the crust on top because we didn't care for the mushy bottom, but still really enjoyed this. Will def make again with my changes. Upon further thought, I will cut the oat mixture in half next time and only put it on the top of the "crisp". Seems no point to having a soggy undercrust. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Made it exactly as written. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Loved it. Used just as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Fabulous! I made this for a dinner get-together and one of my friends (who doesn't even like cherries) went back for seconds. I only made 1 small change. I used slivered almonds in the top crumb mixture rather than walnuts. Next time I think I will pat 2 1/2 cups of the crumb mix into the pan for the bottom crust. I personally prefer a more substantial bottom crust. Great TART recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I expected a more rhubarb-y taste and more crunch. I think if I made this again I'd put in more rhubarb and double the topping. The walnuts are really nice, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States