Cherry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I just made this for a family pot luck and it was a huge hit! I doubled the cherries and mixed the rhubarb with the cherries instead of layering the rhubarb in first. I've never liked rhubarb much, but this was delicious! I also used steel cut oats because I didn't have rolled oats. It gave it a very nutty texture, next time I'll try it with the rolled oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
We liked this cherry & rhubarb combination a lot. The crust/topping is excellent. Since we like things a little less sweet I cut the brown sugar to 2/3 cup (from 1 cup) and added 1/3 c extra oats in the crust. I also would recommend using the "extra fruit" version of cherry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was really great and easy to prepare. The only complaint was that I thought the sweetness overpowered the tartness of the rhubarb; we prefer a bit more of a tart rhubarb dessert so I'll probably cut down on the sugar next time. Just a family preference - don't hesitate to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This is fabulous and easy! We were short on nuts, so used a mixture of walnuts & pecans to make up the full amount. Very, very good with whipped cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe was great! Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
i used frozen cherries - drained and used the juice in place of the water- added more than 1 cup of juice and increased the cornstarch to thicken juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
my husband and I loved this recipe and have made it twice. I was a little skeptical of the basil but put it in anyway. My advice, DON'T leave it out!! It really does add a special flavor to the crisp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitewater, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I just loved this and wouldn't change a thing. This is now one of my "favorite" rhubarb recipes and will make it often. I now have a good reason to freeze rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I've been making a recipe similair to this for years and it's excellent. I chop and freeze rhubarb in the summer and am able to make it all year long. I just add the rhubarb frozen and it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This recipe is amazing... I've had nothing but compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States