Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Awesome cake!! I, in an atypical fashion, didn't change the recipe a bit, and it turned out wonderfully. Dredging the cherries in the flour made them hold their color and shape, thus making nice, juicy, plump bites of cherry, and a cake that stayed a creamy white, and didn't bleed pink. I did find, however, that it took less time to cook than stated in the recipe. You might want to start checking for doneness sooner than the 80 minutes (mine took about an hour to cook). I cubed this cake after cooling it and used it with a dessert fondue. De-lish!!!! Thanks for the yummy recipe, Holly! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
I made this cake for Father's Day, and it tasted sooooo good! It was creamy and fluffly, and even though it's a little bit fattening......it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Good and pretty cake. I didn't have maraschino cherries, so I used candied ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
Really good. I used fat free cream cheese and egg substitute. Next time I think I will add more cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Made this for Valentine's Day dessert and my hubby loved it! My oven runs a little hotter than most so I took it out after 1 hour and it was perfect! Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Very good pound cake with a splash of the color red. I let the cherries drain very well, before dredging in flour. So I had creamy pound cake with just spots of cherries. The taste is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
my family loves cake.So last christmas i wanted to bake that i haven't baked before and so i chose this recipe and i wasn't sure that my family would like it but when we were eating dinner and i brought the cake it disappered before my very own eyes...everyone eat it all too bad i couldn't get a piece!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I have baked this recipe before and it is the best! Thanks for sharing it with those who have never experienced this. Lor P.S. I know a Holly Fisher who lives in Aurora, Ontario. Are you by any chance that Holly Fisher?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
What a wonderful cake, just moist enough to melt in your mouth. I served it with coffee and ice cream. After reading other reviews, I packaged and froze half the cake before serving. Glad I did, because I could have made an oinker out of myself. Thanks for the recipe Holly. iota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This cake was wonderful! However, I did not have almond extract so I added 2 tsp of vanilla. I have a gas convection oven and baked it the full 80 minutes at 325 degrees and it turned out perfectly. I even make small 'loaves' to give as gifts. It was moist and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States