Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I loved this cake! The only thing I changed was to use almond extract in place of the vanilla. It only took an hour, and it was moist and delicious! I also made the glaze as suggested in another review using the cherry juice and icing sugar, and more almond extract. Everyone at work who tried it loved it! This recipe will definitely be added to my annual Xmas baking! ***Edit: I also tried this recipe using Splenda and it did not turn out well - the consistency of the dough was different, and it did not rise well at all, which affected the end product. It came out very heavy and didn't have a very good texture. I ended up throwing out almost all of it. Next time I make it I'll definitely stick with the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is a very good cake! I tried using low fat cream cheese and margarine, but it wasn't as moist as the first time I made it with regular ingredients. I added my own touch to this by making a pecan-glaze topping. I toasted the pecans in a little butter, and then took some of the cherry juice and powdered sugar and made a glaze it with. The nuts never lost its crunch or its buttery flavor, and just made the almond flavor and cherries really stand out. Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I have made cakes and cup cakes from this recipe with chocholate glaze. They all turn out amazing every time and everyone loves it. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by essensual911

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This is one delicious cake! I've made it twice, the most recent for one of my Bible Study members as a birthday cake. The original recipe only states an 8-inch tube pan, so I decided to experiment. I made 1 1/2 recipes, and it fit into my full-size Bundt pan just beautifully. Based on some of the other reviews, I decided to up the amount of cherries--I used two jars--a 16-oz and a 10-oz. In addition, I used 1 cup of cake flour with 2 cups of all-purpose. This made a lighter, more tender cake. I also added close to 2 T. almond extract, since the honoree loves almond. Sifting the flour also helps. I used reduced-fat cream cheese, and about 2 2/3 sticks butter. I made a simple powdered sugar glaze, with the juice from the cherries, and some almond extract. Everyone loved it. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Yummy recipe!Fluffy,creamy,delicious!!!I used candied cherries,only vanilla extract(I think almond dominates the flavor)and baked for 60 min.One of the best cakes I've ever eaten.Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Delicious! I added 1 cup of white chocolate chips to the batter... and taste was even better! Very creamy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Out of this world!! This is so good, cant say enough about it. I quartered the cherries to make them go farther. You also need to heap the salt in order to balance the taste. This was a birthday cake and I had to pair it with icing so I could decorate. I used the White Chocolate Cream Cheese frosting from this site. outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
very nice variation on a pound cake. I didn't experience any color bleeding and baked 60min. The cake came out very moist! Next time I make this cake I will use a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This is delicious. I took the advice of others and only baked it an hour. It came out just right. My only concern is that it's a little dry. Maybe I'll yank it out of the oven even sooner next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was better than expected. I was worried about the cherries being to potent but they were great! I followed the dirrections to a "T" accept for taking the cake out 5 min before the suggested time. Very moist, wouldn't change a thing. P.S. I am very picky about my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States