Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This had good flavor and texture. I also doubled the cherries and made a glaze with the cherry juice. I think adding chopped nuts would be a nice addition to this cake. Thanks Holly for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this for a brunch. My friends and family all said it was delicious! I made a glaze with powdered sugar and milk -- then drizzled it over the top. 'Definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is the most beautiful, moist, and delicious cake that made a great addition to my holiday baking repertoire. I took the advice of most reviews here and doubled the amount of cherries, and since I didn't have a tube pan, I used a pretty rose-shaped bundt pan and it made a great presentation. I also melted down a jar of cream cheese frosting and added the remaining cherry juice to that, making a nice pink frosting-glaze for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This cake was awesome! Being a first-time pound-cake maker, I was skeptical, but it was easy to follow and tasted great. I glazed it with a browned butter glaze, using some of the cherry juice to add flavor, and it came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Wonderful! I took the advice of other posters and added more cherries. I decorated with a glaze made from reserved cherry juice, powdered sugar, & almond extract. I made this 2 days ago and it is still moist. I cooked it in a bundt pan for only 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I loved this cake! The only thing I changed was to use almond extract in place of the vanilla. It only took an hour, and it was moist and delicious! I also made the glaze as suggested in another review using the cherry juice and icing sugar, and more almond extract. Everyone at work who tried it loved it! This recipe will definitely be added to my annual Xmas baking! ***Edit: I also tried this recipe using Splenda and it did not turn out well - the consistency of the dough was different, and it did not rise well at all, which affected the end product. It came out very heavy and didn't have a very good texture. I ended up throwing out almost all of it. Next time I make it I'll definitely stick with the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is a very good cake! I tried using low fat cream cheese and margarine, but it wasn't as moist as the first time I made it with regular ingredients. I added my own touch to this by making a pecan-glaze topping. I toasted the pecans in a little butter, and then took some of the cherry juice and powdered sugar and made a glaze it with. The nuts never lost its crunch or its buttery flavor, and just made the almond flavor and cherries really stand out. Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I have made cakes and cup cakes from this recipe with chocholate glaze. They all turn out amazing every time and everyone loves it. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by essensual911

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This is one delicious cake! I've made it twice, the most recent for one of my Bible Study members as a birthday cake. The original recipe only states an 8-inch tube pan, so I decided to experiment. I made 1 1/2 recipes, and it fit into my full-size Bundt pan just beautifully. Based on some of the other reviews, I decided to up the amount of cherries--I used two jars--a 16-oz and a 10-oz. In addition, I used 1 cup of cake flour with 2 cups of all-purpose. This made a lighter, more tender cake. I also added close to 2 T. almond extract, since the honoree loves almond. Sifting the flour also helps. I used reduced-fat cream cheese, and about 2 2/3 sticks butter. I made a simple powdered sugar glaze, with the juice from the cherries, and some almond extract. Everyone loved it. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Yummy recipe!Fluffy,creamy,delicious!!!I used candied cherries,only vanilla extract(I think almond dominates the flavor)and baked for 60 min.One of the best cakes I've ever eaten.Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States