Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I really liked the taste of this pound cake, but I thought it was a little dry. I probably will not try it again. It wasn't popular with my family, but it was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sedgewickville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Just a perfect little cake--moist, tender crumb, with just the right amount of cherries--any more than what the recipe called for would have been overkill. This fit perfectly in one of the smaller, specialty Bundt pans and made a really beautiful presentation glazed with a mixture of reserved cherry juice and powdered sugar and just a light sprinkling of white jimmies. I found, however, that I had to bake it for a much shorter time, so I would suggest checking it after 50-55 minutes so as not to overbake--this may be the reason for the dryness some reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I tried this recipe for the 4th of July! My family went crazy over it. It will definitely become one of our "Family Favorites," not to mention it's beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Studio3101

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I have doubled the amount of cherries, used 2 tsp of vanila(did not have almond extract) and baked for 60 min and it came out wonderful. I made it for my neighbours so I dont know how it tasted but they raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
So delicious and soooo beautiful. I will also cook it a little less time though, my husband thought it could be moister. I will add the cherry juice glaze and it will be perfect. Will definitely keep this recipe around for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Nice flavor. Mine came out a bit dry & it only took 60 min. to bake. I did add some chopped pecans & wish I had added more cherries like others suggested. Also drizzled a glaze over top. This would be a nice cake to take to an event, because it would travel well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I made this for Valentine's Day to bring into work. Received rave reviews. I would definitely make this again. I only cooked it for 60 minutes. Next time I made add white choco chips as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This had good flavor and texture. I also doubled the cherries and made a glaze with the cherry juice. I think adding chopped nuts would be a nice addition to this cake. Thanks Holly for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this for a brunch. My friends and family all said it was delicious! I made a glaze with powdered sugar and milk -- then drizzled it over the top. 'Definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is the most beautiful, moist, and delicious cake that made a great addition to my holiday baking repertoire. I took the advice of most reviews here and doubled the amount of cherries, and since I didn't have a tube pan, I used a pretty rose-shaped bundt pan and it made a great presentation. I also melted down a jar of cream cheese frosting and added the remaining cherry juice to that, making a nice pink frosting-glaze for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States