Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I used the 50-minute baking time suggested by other reviewers and kept an eye on it the last 5-10 minutes. It came out perfectly with a touch of brown and none of the dryness issues some others mentioned. I would describe the end result as a dense sweet pound cake. It smelled wonderful. This is not in the elegant dessert category. The bundt shape and the maraschino cherries make it feel like something straight off a 1960's cookbook cover. Overall I found it just okay. If I made it again I'd probably experiment with changing the fruit to dark cherries or a berry and reducing the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I needed a cake for a dinner I was attending and this recipe was a hit!! I didnt have cherries which I guess defeats the purpose of this recipe so I used coconut instead. I added about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of both sweetened and unsweetened coconut, switched the vanilla for almond extract and creamed the life out of the butter, cream cheese and sugar. It was absolutely amazing!!! Instead of the glaze I made a white icing and topped it off with toasted coconut. Complete 360 from this recipe but it definitely gives you the foundation to mix n match. Excellent recipe, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
It is not a very " creamy " cake on my opinion...Good, but not the best. I also would add a little bit more of cherries. Thanks for sharing. Monica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Delicious and easy to prepare. I left out the cherries and added lemon zest and oil. Glazed with sugar and lemon juice syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very good pound cake,moist and buttery.Changed baking time 15min less. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is a very good cake and very festive-looking for the holidays. I made the glaze as suggested by many reviewers but I would actually just do a dusting of powdered sugar next time. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I added fresh cherries,very moist and good flavor.Ithink any fruit might be good in this pound cake.My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Made exactly as directions state. The taste was good but the cake was just a bit to dry for our liking. And to be fair I am not personally a fan of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I served this at a bridal shower and received rave reviews. Personally though I was very underwhelmed with it. If I were to make this again I would double the amount of cherries, add some of the cherry juice to the batter to make it pink, and had a glaze/frosting to the finished cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This cake is delicious with just the right amount of cherry flavor. I made this around the holidays, tinted the batter green and used a specialty bundt pan that was evergreen trees. I glazed it with powdered sugar icing and it looked gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States