Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good I have made it twice now. the first time I used 1/4 tsp of almond extract because I don't like it much and it came out good, then I made it with 2 tsp of vanilla and no almond flavoring and it was perfect! its the cake I have been looking for. thank you so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
did not like the receipe. will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Nice texture and flavour to this cake (not dry as others stated). I made them into cupcakes (baked about 30 minutes) as I was taking them into the office for a staff treat. I did use candied cherries as I had some leftover from making shortbread cookies. Because of using the candied cherries, I scaled the sugar back to one cup from 1 1/2 cups. Good thing I did as I don't like a pound cake that is overly sweet and this was just perfect. I used an almond icing glaze on the cupcakes and topped with chopped cherry bits. Festive for the Christmas Season, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I gave it four stars because as written it likely would be very dry without enough cherries. I only baked it 60 minutes, and it was perfectly done. My oven is new and spot on temperature. I took the advise of other reviewers and doubled the cherries. With those minor changes, this is at least 5 stars. Divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Delicious Recipe! I've made it many times and given it as gifts for the holidays. Everyone really loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Fantastic! Don't be shy with the cherries. A huge hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I made this pound cake December 2009, it was the first time I ever made a cake from scratch and everyone loved it. My husband comes from a line of cooks and they have and old pound cake family recipe they dont share...(from his great great grandma) I made it without the cherries too and they couldn't tell which piece was his family's or mine on a fam reunion!!! Tasty, soft and melts in your mouth! Awsome and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
First time I made this, I dredged the cherries completely as instructed. I didn't care for that too much - the cake was delicious, but I thought I'd actually prefer a little cherry flavor in the cake. The second time, I doubled the cherries and didn't dredge so much or long, and it was perfect for me! I love this cake and will make it for special occasions again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This cake is good. Tastes a lot like a doughnut. I made it with a chocolate glaze and some sliced almonds on top. Maybe I would like it more with more cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I used the 50-minute baking time suggested by other reviewers and kept an eye on it the last 5-10 minutes. It came out perfectly with a touch of brown and none of the dryness issues some others mentioned. I would describe the end result as a dense sweet pound cake. It smelled wonderful. This is not in the elegant dessert category. The bundt shape and the maraschino cherries make it feel like something straight off a 1960's cookbook cover. Overall I found it just okay. If I made it again I'd probably experiment with changing the fruit to dark cherries or a berry and reducing the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States