Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This is delicious. I took the advice of others and only baked it an hour. It came out just right. My only concern is that it's a little dry. Maybe I'll yank it out of the oven even sooner next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was better than expected. I was worried about the cherries being to potent but they were great! I followed the dirrections to a "T" accept for taking the cake out 5 min before the suggested time. Very moist, wouldn't change a thing. P.S. I am very picky about my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I made this cake for a co-wokers birthday and the plate was wiped clean. I did use a few suggestions as I only cooked it for 60 minutes, used 2 tsp of almond extract & 1 tsp vanilla. What I changed was I chopped my cherries up before folding them in. The cake was a little pink but it didn't matter. The cake was very moist. I also served it with a chocolate sauce heated so everyone could spoon some over each piece. Most comments were it tastes like a chocolate covered cherry. This is a keeper!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I made this for Christmas and it is absolutely the best tasting cake! It is easy to make and DELICIOUS! A couple of slight derivations: I baked it for 60 minutes, which was PERFECT; also, I bit the bullet and purchased the BIG marischino cherries - it was so worth it! I also added powdered sugar sifted on the top of the cake when cooled. It WILL be a cake that I will regularly make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Made this for an office gathering, sprinkled with powered sugar. While it was good, it didn't have the wow factor I was hoping for. Next time, I'll cut down on the baking time a bit as other reviewers mentioned. The inside was great, but the outside was a touch overdone. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fiume Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Excellent dessert and very pretty, too! This is a VERY buttery cake, and next time I'm going to attempt substituting the butter and the cream cheese for a healthier version (so as not to feel guilty eating it!) I didn't have a bundt pan, so I used a bread pan, but next time I'll try it with the bundt- only because it looks better. I'm adding this recipe to my Christmas day brunch menu, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I tried to make this cake for Christmas morning and is turned out to be a big disappointment! Parts of it cooked just fine and were done in about 50 minutes, but the middle was still gooey and soft. The edges ended up getting tough and burning before the whole cake finished cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This recipe will be a 5 the next time I make it because I will do a few things differently. I liked the other reviewer's idea about sprinkling some of the cherries on the bottom of the pan before pouring the batter in. Definately use more cherries. I used a jar and a half of cherries, but I will use 2 jars next time (or more!). The cook time was also way too long. I'll bring it down to 60 mins next time so that it is more moist. The flavor of this cake is excellent. I also reccomend making a glaze of milk & powdered sugar (with some cherry flavored extract) to put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Easy to make and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Good flavor, easy to make. Only needed to bake for 60 minutes. It was a tiny bit dry and crumbly, but still good. I brought it to our church potluck and glazed it with Satiny Chocolate Glaze, which went very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States