Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I have been making this cherry cake for over 30 years, with just a few changes....I use all pure (not artificial) flavorings...Vanilla, Almond, and Lemon....and baking cherries instead of maraschino... The recipe belongs to my dear Mother In Law, Lillian, who passed away some years ago at the age of 98. Enjoy.!!!..I do forget though how long to store it before freezing it....any thoughts?..The cake need to age a bit before you freeze, but how long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fran read

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is tasty and we are enjoying it. I think it could use more like 2 cups of cherries, and if I make it again that is what I will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Awesome cake, next time will go less time or less temperature, just because think it came out a little bit dry and overcooked on the top. So I will try both changes and see what happens
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Jude**

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
It was so Delicious And very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I am in Colorado so I added a 1/4cup extra ap flour 1/4 light brown sugar 1.5 tbsp apple sauce I used 1 1/4 cup fresh tart cherries, macerated in sugar,splash of oj, and shot of brandy(let sit for 45 min room temp, then strain off liquid) I added 3/4 cup cocoa powder I also added 1tspn extra baking powder Came out light airy, not to sweet and just the right tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janerino

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alethea
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Delicious cake! I only baked this cake for 60 minutes as other reviewers advised. The next time I make this I will add additional cherries. I did make a cherry glaze per another reviewer. 1 cup of powdered sugar 1 teaspoon of almond extract 3 tablespoons of cherry juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Made this recipe with only a couple minor changes. I used a whole bottle of cherries and I only had to bake it for 60 minutes. The aroma while it was baking was unbelievable. It tasted every bit as good as it smelled. Moist and delicious! Thank you for posting this recipe. It's definitely a keeper and one I plan on using regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
It came out beautifully and was quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
My cake came out moist and delicious and had a great texture, but it could have used a lot more cherries (I used 1-1/2 cup frozen cherries, which I thawed and drained). I baked it 47 minutes in my convection oven, and it was perfectly done. I made an almond glaze to pour over, which was good, but next time I'll use the juice from the cherries in the glaze. This recipe is a definite keeper...my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States