Cherry Poppyseed Twinks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I was very disappointed by these cookies as I found the the dough very bland. I like the idea of using cherry preserves as a cookie filling, but the flavor of the actual cookie was just too dull. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
My family didn't enjoy these much. The flavor of the cherries was over powered by the almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
These were super yummy - I sprikled them very lightly with powdered sugar. MMMMM good! I will defintely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Although they tasted fine, I must have done something wrong. The cookies seemed to be almost frying on the cookie sheet.There seemed to be too much fat, so for the next load I added more flour, and they baked fine this time, although they seemed a bit ... dense.I did use margarine instead of butter (we have a milk allergy in the family). It might be the margarine, but I have never had problems with recipes requiring butter so... don't know what the problem was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
These were rather unimpressive, in my book- a dissapointment since I had such high hopes. I used both apricot and cherry preserves (seperately! Not together!). I do like the simplicity of baking the cookies with the filling already done, however, the cookies themselves are a little too dry and non-flavorful. An ideal base cookie for this should have a subtle, rich flavor- and this one doesn't. My dog loves them, though- which is nice since there isn't anything bad for him in them! Perhaps a better chef than I will have better luck...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Osos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
These were very good. I found a cookie scoop gave me a better size than a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I made these for a cookie exchange, and I have gotten nothing but rave reviews on them! I only had 4 extra cookies then what I needed for the exchange, now my husband is wanting me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
These are pretty little cookies. And yummy too. They have a delicate flavor, almost like soft shortbread. I used marashino cherry halves rather than preserves or jam. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Very Good! I did sub some items... Honey for sugar and whole wheat flour for reg. I also used peach for the cherry. WOW! It was very good! Makes alot too! Will be making very often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THESE COOKIES-SO DID EVERYONE ELSE-I WILL DEFINATELY MAKE AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States