Cherry Poppyseed Twinks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I have been making these cookies for a number of years and have tried many variations. One of my favourites is to add a little lemon juice (instead of vanilla) and some grated lemon rind. The combination of lemon/poppy seed with just a dollop of cherry preserves is very tasty! I also chill the dough to make it easier to work and I have learned the hard way to make a deep thumb print. These are very addictive and never last very long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I have made this recipe recently and they are absolutely fabulous. You don't have to stick with just cherry jelly/jam however. You can also try different fruits like strawberry. I used strawberry and apricot and everyone thought they were fantastic. very flaky and light cookies that seem to melt away in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilhippo21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
These cookies would be great with any kind of preserves, I think. I used kumquat in half and strawberry in the other half. Both were delicious. I would recommend chilling the dough before scooping it, though, so the cookies don't spread out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This cookie came out wonderful! My boyfriend loved every bite! After reading the reviews, I decided to use Almond Extract instead of vanilla. I also used Strawberry Preserves. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
these were good,but not exceptional. As others have stated a little bland, maybe the almond flavour would shine thru?? I also love poppy seeds so i double those. didn't have cherry preserves so i used apricot for half and wildberry for other half. I would make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
These cookies were good--melted in your mouth. They could be made with any kind of fruit preserve. I ran out of cherry so used blackberry. The flavor of the cookie base was a little mild--I think using almond extract instead of vanilla would give the flavor a little boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Marvellous!! I made them with rasberry preserves and with lemon curd. It is one of the best recipes I have ever tried!! My husband and friends love the poppy seed twinks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
i made these cookies at christmas time. they were great and everyone loved them. i gave them to friends and family members. i will make these cookies every christmas and at other times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These tasted better when they came right out of the oven, but I would not recommend freezing. They defrost kind of soggy. Not many of them came out too pretty. I think if you would refrigerate the dough for a little bit, it may allow it to be more workable. It is a very sticky dough. I probably wouldn't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I had jam from my Christmas package and needed to bring something to a family dinner. The idea of thumbprint cookies came to me. Unforunately I couldn't find any poppy seeds at such notice but I just did without. The cookies are very light and have a subtle taste. Very nice! Tip: don't make the cookies very big (about the size of a quarter) and make sure the thumbprint is nice and deep, otherwise when the cookies melt in the oven, the jam will go everywhere. Also don't make the thumbprint too deep - enough cookie must stay under the jam, otherwise you get a gooey mess when you pick the cookie up. Next time with poppy seeds, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States