Cherry Poppyseed Twinks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
For Christmas this year we made 20 different kinds of cookies in our gift baskets. This was not only MY favorite recipie, but it was also rated No.1 by several of the recipients. Wonderful is too mild a word!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2000
Variation: Make walnut size balls, flatten them under a drinking glass. Bake until light golden. When cold glue two bisquites together with lemon curd or raspberry jam. Dust with confektioner´s sugar. Keep in a airtight tin. Will be slightly soft in the middle after some hours. Good to have in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I have been making these cookies for a number of years and have tried many variations. One of my favourites is to add a little lemon juice (instead of vanilla) and some grated lemon rind. The combination of lemon/poppy seed with just a dollop of cherry preserves is very tasty! I also chill the dough to make it easier to work and I have learned the hard way to make a deep thumb print. These are very addictive and never last very long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Delicious--wonderful texture and they taste divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
i made these for a christmas cookie exchange and everybody liked them. they are alittle different than alot of thumbprint cookies and look nice on a christmas plate. very festive. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
These are different, but good. My best advice is do not overfill with jam and do not overcook. I took them out when they were barely done and they stayed soft and not too crumbly. Dipping my finger (index) in water and making the indentions was the easiest way for me. I used raspberry seedless jam. The poppy seeds add dimension. I would make these again for a party, because they do look nice and taste decent too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Nice tasty cookie. Next time I will make them a bit smaller, I was surprized to see how big they got, but Yum! I will be making another batch tomorrow. I love the poppy seeds and they look very nice along side the other Christmas cookies on a tray. Thanks for sharing Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This was such a good, quick and easy, and tasty recipe to prepare. I used just raspberry jam in them, but they are by far the best thumbprint cookies I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
A new favorite! Update: We really liked these, but they do not hold well. Eat them soon after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very tasty and fun to make. Made exactly as directed except for jam flavour. The poppyseeds add good texture, especially when nuts are not an option (allergies). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States