Cherry Poppyseed Twinks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I used raspberry jam instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I loved these! Easy and fun to make. I made them for a cookie exchange and was sure to keep a bunch for myself. I accidently doubled the poppyseeds and still they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Very good cookie. The only thing I did different was drizzle powdered sugar and milk glaze over the top to make them look cuter for the cookie tray. They are really good. I love the cherry preserves. I hadn't tried cherry preserves before and they work perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Just made these yesterday...the texture is really nice, and I really like the poppyseeds too. I used redcurrant preserve, as that was what I had on hand. This was my first go at a thumbprintcookie, so I had a bit of trouble with indent/jam ratio. Some cookies had jam overload, and it sort of bubbled down one side. No problem, really, as I was decorating some other cookies with white chocolate glaze. Took out the whisk, and drizzled, criss-cross, over the top of the whole batch. Hid the flaws, and it looked great.Will definetley make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I loved these cookies! So simple and delicious. I did drop the vanilla to 1/4 t and added 1/4 t almond extract. The kids and hubby likes these too, and they went very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
These cookies are WONDERFUL. I made them for the first time at Christmas, and have made them many times since then. They ARE almost addictive! I make them rather large, and make the thumbprints deep to hold lots of jam. (I've used strawberry and raspberry too.) They spread out while baking, and I like the jam to cover most of the cookie. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Delicious: light and buttery. Cherry preserves add a nice sour filling. I found that making the "thumbprint" wide and deep provided the best results. I also baked them at 325 because they weren't getting done at 300. I baked until slightly brown on the edges. I made some with cherry preserves and some with blueberry. Both very good. Next time, I'm going to try some with lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I made these with raspberry preserves rather than cherry (just my preference), and they are wonderful....crumbly without being dry, buttery, and the poppy seeds give a lovely subtle flavor and beautiful appearance. Great with coffee. Would be a wonderful cookie for tea, a shower, or Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
If I could only give these 10 stars! They are fantastic. The poppy seeds are a nice change. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Delicious--wonderful texture and they taste divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States