Cherry Poppyseed Twinks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
For Christmas this year we made 20 different kinds of cookies in our gift baskets. This was not only MY favorite recipie, but it was also rated No.1 by several of the recipients. Wonderful is too mild a word!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2000
Variation: Make walnut size balls, flatten them under a drinking glass. Bake until light golden. When cold glue two bisquites together with lemon curd or raspberry jam. Dust with confektioner´s sugar. Keep in a airtight tin. Will be slightly soft in the middle after some hours. Good to have in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I have been making these cookies for a number of years and have tried many variations. One of my favourites is to add a little lemon juice (instead of vanilla) and some grated lemon rind. The combination of lemon/poppy seed with just a dollop of cherry preserves is very tasty! I also chill the dough to make it easier to work and I have learned the hard way to make a deep thumb print. These are very addictive and never last very long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Delicious--wonderful texture and they taste divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
i made these for a christmas cookie exchange and everybody liked them. they are alittle different than alot of thumbprint cookies and look nice on a christmas plate. very festive. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Nice tasty cookie. Next time I will make them a bit smaller, I was surprized to see how big they got, but Yum! I will be making another batch tomorrow. I love the poppy seeds and they look very nice along side the other Christmas cookies on a tray. Thanks for sharing Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This was such a good, quick and easy, and tasty recipe to prepare. I used just raspberry jam in them, but they are by far the best thumbprint cookies I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
These are different, but good. My best advice is do not overfill with jam and do not overcook. I took them out when they were barely done and they stayed soft and not too crumbly. Dipping my finger (index) in water and making the indentions was the easiest way for me. I used raspberry seedless jam. The poppy seeds add dimension. I would make these again for a party, because they do look nice and taste decent too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Delicious: light and buttery. Cherry preserves add a nice sour filling. I found that making the "thumbprint" wide and deep provided the best results. I also baked them at 325 because they weren't getting done at 300. I baked until slightly brown on the edges. I made some with cherry preserves and some with blueberry. Both very good. Next time, I'm going to try some with lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
A new favorite! Update: We really liked these, but they do not hold well. Eat them soon after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States