Cherry Poppyseed Twinks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These are good. I rolled them in little balls before make the indentation & they look more proessionally made. I also dusted them with powdered sugar. I may make them with lemon curd instead of jelly next time. 5-20-10 - tried them with lemon curd, but like the jelly better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I have been making these cookies for a number of years and have tried many variations. One of my favourites is to add a little lemon juice (instead of vanilla) and some grated lemon rind. The combination of lemon/poppy seed with just a dollop of cherry preserves is very tasty! I also chill the dough to make it easier to work and I have learned the hard way to make a deep thumb print. These are very addictive and never last very long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I have made this recipe recently and they are absolutely fabulous. You don't have to stick with just cherry jelly/jam however. You can also try different fruits like strawberry. I used strawberry and apricot and everyone thought they were fantastic. very flaky and light cookies that seem to melt away in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilhippo21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
These cookies would be great with any kind of preserves, I think. I used kumquat in half and strawberry in the other half. Both were delicious. I would recommend chilling the dough before scooping it, though, so the cookies don't spread out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This cookie came out wonderful! My boyfriend loved every bite! After reading the reviews, I decided to use Almond Extract instead of vanilla. I also used Strawberry Preserves. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
these were good,but not exceptional. As others have stated a little bland, maybe the almond flavour would shine thru?? I also love poppy seeds so i double those. didn't have cherry preserves so i used apricot for half and wildberry for other half. I would make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
These cookies were good--melted in your mouth. They could be made with any kind of fruit preserve. I ran out of cherry so used blackberry. The flavor of the cookie base was a little mild--I think using almond extract instead of vanilla would give the flavor a little boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Marvellous!! I made them with rasberry preserves and with lemon curd. It is one of the best recipes I have ever tried!! My husband and friends love the poppy seed twinks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
i made these cookies at christmas time. they were great and everyone loved them. i gave them to friends and family members. i will make these cookies every christmas and at other times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These tasted better when they came right out of the oven, but I would not recommend freezing. They defrost kind of soggy. Not many of them came out too pretty. I think if you would refrigerate the dough for a little bit, it may allow it to be more workable. It is a very sticky dough. I probably wouldn't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States