Cherry Pineapple Cabana Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
If you are looking for a winner - this is it! Don't change a thing! Perfect for office/family get togethers'. Be sure to print copies, everyone will want the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was good but not stellar. I think there is too much coconut (which is surprising). Tasty and super easy but not award-winning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
The taste was very good, and you can't beat the ease of preparation. But 50 minutes in the oven was way too long and mine was burnt around the edges. Next time I'll bake it for much less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I've made this recipe many times (minus the nuts and coconut), 1/2 the butter - sliced thin, rather than melted. I use 2 cans of cherry pie filling rather than 1. And I serve it with a scoop of french vanilla ice cream on top. Quite sweet but very yummy. Kids love it! Next time I make it I am going to try topping it with the coconut and chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne N

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kanab, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
A dear family friend of ours used to make this, and it was a favorite of ours for a long time. We prepared it somewhat differently though. Instead of melting the butter, we sliced thin pieces of butter and distributed them all over the top of the cake mix, then we topped with crushed walnuts and coconut. It's such a simple and quick (and delicious) dessert to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappySideUp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I read all the reviews prior to making. So basically use 2 cans of pineapple, and half the amount of butter is all that is necessary. I used butter cake mix because it was all I could find in a hurry at the store - honestly I am betting it made this stuff even better! Delicious! And this whole thing literally took 3 minutes to put together. I will make again but next time with less coconut, I could barely tell there was cake underneath all that coconut (I used a whole package). Will update when I try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
this is one of my FAVORITES! I've been making this for years and wanted to make sure it was posted!! I use mixed nut. I've not had them burn. I have not tried coconut, but I'm excited to try! This is so easy and tastes GREAT, if your reading this recipe, you must try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made this for a Thanksgiving potluck. The macadamias and coconut on top did burn. If I made this again I would add both ingredients to the top at the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is close to a family recipe from my dads side of the family, never added the nuts or the coconut to it. but found that it is good both ways
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This turned out amazingly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Share

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States