Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I've made this several times and it is always a hit (and super easy too). I make this with a gluten-free crust (store bought) and it is still delicious. You do need to use tart cherries just as the recipe says. Always gone the same night I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I thought it was just average, to be honest. But my friend loved it! He said this pie was flavorful, and really liked the addition of tapioca. We actually did a taste test for cherry pies and this recipe was his favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I really loved this pie and so did everyone else. I used my own crust recipe and fresh tart cherries, but the rest was the basically the same. The almond extract is really what makes this special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Very good pie, I used 2 cans of sour cherries plus 2 cups of fresh cherries. Vanilla extract in place of almond and 3 Tablespoons was perfect or the amount of cherries I used. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was pretty easy and good, but not enough cherries. I'd definitely add an extra can next time. Also. I've never used canned cherries before, but apparently they're a weird grayish-burgundy/mauve color. I might add that food coloring next time, since your eyes eat first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was pretty good! It was also my first successful pie, yay me! My husband is an avid lover of cherries, but alas, unless they are cooked, he's very alergic to them. So, when I found this recipe, he insisted that I make it. I just gave him a skeptical look given my unfortunate lack of success in making any kind of dessert, no matter how easy it is. (when I say lack of success, I mean unedible) Still, I wanted to give it a shot all the same. I was VERY surprised (and utterly delighted) when it turned out, not only tasty, but presentable as well. Talk about a boost to cooking self-esteam. Thanks for the great recipe!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Loved the almond flavoring in this pie! My only complaint was that the filling was super-thick and gelatinous. so I will have to double-check the amount of tapioca I'm adding next time. Since I used two 10" pie plates, I tripled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This recipe is easy and not too sweet. Instead of the traditional pie crust try a crumble topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly, and it was the best cherry pie I ever tasted. The cherries I used were very red, so I didn't need the food coloring, but that wouldn't make any difference in the taste anyway :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy V

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Great and simple recipe! This was my first cherry pie, I used my own pastry recipe though. Don''t be afraid of the mix being too liquid, it will dry well especially if you are making a lattice pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States