Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I didn't like this pie much but when I made it with apples it was tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Loved the recipe. This was my first pie and it came out awsome. Next time I make it might add a bit more of brown sugar to balance the saltiness of the crumb topping. Otherwhise wont change a thing for now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thekat322

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I made this pie for a 4th of July party. I received more compliments than any other recipe I've ever made. I followed the recipe exactly, but added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the filling. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tash
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I changed it but I thought my changes were worth mentioning since I entered it in a cherry crisp contest and won 1st place (out of 12 or so entries). First it was a crisp contest so I omited the crust. Due to no crust I baked it for 55 min, or until the topping was golden. I added a tablespoon of dark cocoa powder to the filling, and used 1.5 teaspoons almond extract in the filling. Then I sprinkled 1 big tablespoon of mini chocolate chips on it right out of the oven. The judge said that while she prefers tart crisps without anything but cherry flavor mine was just that good to get 1st anyway. 2nd, and 3rd were both tart and were delicious. This recipe has the perfect amounts of flour, oats, almonds, and butter and if you are new to crisps or pies you should watch the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Made this as a thank you for a neighbor after I found out cherry pie was his favorite. His wife said they both loved the pie and thought that the topping was amazing and made the pie! When I offered to make another thank you pie for him in any flavor he wanted, he asked for this one again...must be that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Amazing recipe, love the topping, have made 3 times now, once as per the original recipe and twice more minus the pastry base, first time using plums with ginger the second time with apples and cinnamon... Absolutely love it, vanilla ice cream and this dish are a match made in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
It was quite a bit of work since I didn't have a cherry pitter, but the result was great! Loved the granola almond topping. I took this pie to a party and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Best cherry pie. Ever. Made exactly as written, and I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I loved the almonds in the topping. They were nice both flavor-wise and for the extra texture they brought to it. I used two bags of frozen dark sweet cherries and liked that it didn't get overly sweet. I think this is my go-to cherry pie now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This is simply fabulous! The almonds go so well with the cherries, they're perfect together and the whole thing is just sweet enough without being too much. I followed the recipe as is and it turned out exactly as described. I'm definitely keeping this recipe and doing it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States