Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My first pie ever! This pie turned out wonderful although the filling was a little runny at first. (fixed with cornstarch--- remember to stir with a little water in a glass BEFORE adding, or else it will clump into little white balls and look gross!) I learned that if you leave the pie in the fridge overnight the cornstarch makes the filling perfectly wiggly (my version of saying the right consistency). If you don't think the filling is thickening, leaving the pie in the fridge overnight will really perfect it. I put leaves and an acorn design in the middle. (be creative and make any design!) My mother doubted I could make a perfect pie---especially she doubted the crust --- but it was complemented on by my whole fam. In my taste the crust WAS a little bland, but you can fix that by sprinkling cinnamon and sugar over the bottom and top crusts. When refrigerating the crusts... you dont have to go the full timing.. just make sure they are chilled before using. I also used butter instead of shortening, i guess thats a bid old fashioned no-no, but it made it nice and flaky-- perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This pie turned out excellent! I had some frozen fresh sour cherries and I drained the juice into a sauce pan added the sugar & cornstarch then the cherries and cooked it till thick, then baked it in the oven and VIOLA! Cherry pie! I did cheat with the pie crust and bought a dairy case ready crust to save time. I will do this again with other fruits! Thanks! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Made this pie for my dad's birthday. He said he'd never had a better one in all his 64 years. LOVED(!!) this pie filling idea, as I don't like canned cherry pie filling that is full of red dye and high fructose corn syrup! Gave it 5 stars for filling taste/texture. However, I used my own crust recipe of 2C flour, 1tsp salt, 1C frozen, shredded unsalted butter and 1/2 C very cold heavy cream. With this pie filling and my own crust recipe this is an OUTSTANDING dessert! Thanks for being willing to share with us, Beth!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennB1972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
After having read the reviews I used a crust recipe that I already had. I loved the flavor of this filling. it was spectacular. However, the 4 star rating comes from the fact that even though I made it twice it did not gel properly. I used fresh, dark cherries. I am not sure if the water content is higher in those vs. the sour cherries but it was just soupy. Delicious, but soupy. It was so good that I will try it again with a little bit more cornstarch and hope for the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was my first attempt at cherry pie. I used 5 cans tart pie cherries (well drained), which turned out to be just enough. The almond extract made ALL the difference in the filling (which is DELICIOUS)--don't skip it! The only problem I had with the filling was my cherries didn't hold together, but that's probably because I used canned ones that were already very mushy. If you're going to do a lattice crust, let the filling cool first! I didn't, and was left trying to weave melting, stretching strips of dough with very little success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lange

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I used my own crust recipe, so this rating is just for the filling. Other than cutting the recipe in half (just my wife and I) I followed the recipe to a tee. This is the best cherry pie I have ever had! The balance of sweet and tart is perfect. Baked it in a 6 inch pie pan for 45 minutes. Five stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This pie rocks! My boyfriend's mom makes the best pies, so I had some stiff competition our first Christmas together. This pie blew anything he had eaten before out of the water. While we liked how sweet it was, some of you may want to use slightly less sugar if that's not your thing. Oh, skip the crust. I bought one at the store and just glazed it with egg whites and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Very good but a tad too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie N Matt Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shaneP
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Yup, excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaneP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
i used ready-made crust with this pie but it's absolutely delicious! I will be making this again! Thank you Beth for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States