Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is an absolutely wonderful recipe! It was the first pie I ever tried to make completely from scratch and talk about nailing it. I have to make a special mention of the crust. It comes out perfect every time. I've used it for this cheery pie, for an apple, and for a berries, and it's always perfectly flaky with the right amount of crunch and never gooey. My father is an excellent cook, and he's very hard to please, but every time I use this recipe, he goes on about how well the crust comes out. This pie never lasts long in my house! All in all, great recipe, one that I will continue to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was my time making first cherry pie and it came out fantastic! I topped it with a proper lattice crust, and used fresh sour cherries. Next time, I might experiment with a little less sugar, so that the tartness comes through a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Ok, I make pies all the time. I am not a novice, but I really messed something up on this one. I measured my cherries by weighing them (after pitting). I used 2 pounds, which actually measured out to between 4 and 5 cups. I used a different crust because I like my crust better. I forget to add the butter, so I dotted it on top. However, the pie was like soup. The filling thickened perfectly on the the stove top. But out of the oven it was like I had poured cherries and juice into the crust. It tasted yummy. The only thing I can think of was that while pitting the cherries, we lost power for about 7 hours causing me to put off finishing the pie for almost 24 hours. I put the cherries in the fridge and didn't add anything to them until I was ready to actually make the pie. I don't know if they sat to long? Crazy. I will try again, but maybe add a lot more cornstarch and remember to add the butter in. However, that shouldn't make a difference in the chemistry. Any ideas?***Edit*** Well, I cooled it in the refrigerator overnight. That caused it to gel and set up. I've never had to cool a pie completely before cutting. This one seems to require it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
One word for this pie - EXCELLENT -Been looking for a cherry pie worth the effort and this is the one. Used fresh cherries and my own crust and it turned out beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This pie filling is awesome! I can't speak for the crust because we used my mom's recipe. I made this pie for Easter and wasn't able to find fresh cherries anywhere. I substituted 3 cans of tart cherries packed in water, and also added the juice from about 1/2 a lemon. It was fantastic and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Cherry Pie has always been a problem for me since it is often sour and runny. This is the only recipe I make now. It always tastes great with the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
perfect cherry pie (and super easy too!) I personally like using Door County sour cherries; they make the best pie ever! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smksmk00

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Wonderful flavor and not runny at all! I used 3 cans of tart cherries and it was the perfect blend of tart and sweet. I used the Baker's Secret pie crust, which I use for all my pies now and get rave reviews on it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I used up the frozen berrie in my freezer, blueberry, cherry, raspberry and blackberries, enought for 2lbs instead of all cherry. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Yum! My 9 year-old daughter scraped every last bit of cherry off her plate. It was that good! I opted for vanilla instead of almond extract and stirred in an extra tablespoon of butter. Oh, and I added a dash of salt. I'll make it the same way next time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States