Cherry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe. The first time I made it I cooked the filling on the stove as the recipe directs and it was great. The second time I tried not cooking the filling prior to adding it to the crust as a couple of other reviewers suggested, but it didn't work for me at all. It turned out like a big soupy mess. Will definitely cook the filling from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The filling is five stars for sure, but pass on the pie crust. Instead, surround this delicious cherry filling with the following pie crust recipe also from this site: Easy Homemade Pie Crust by Chef John. It is THE best pie crust you will every make and will complement this scrumptious cherry pie filling beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made this pie filling exactly as written, except I used my own crust. This pie was a hit, gone in seconds! I used 3 bags of frozen cherries because fresh we're not in season. HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was our first cherry pie we have ever made, and we were overall very pleased. We used a different pie crust recipe, but it was very similar to the one above. The key is to make sure your butter or shortening and water are very cold and make sure you add the water a table spoon or two at a time, and stop adding the water when your dough is coming together. The cherry filling was delicious. I gave it plenty of time to simmer and cool on the stove and it was not too runny at all. We used frozen tart cherries because that is all we could find in the grocery store, drained some of the juice, and they worked perfectly. They ended up tasting very similar to canned cherries but I would like to think they were superior. The only downside to this recipe was the cost, the frozen cherries for one pie were about $8, but it was worth doing homemade in the end and we are going to try make it with fresh cherries when they are in season and try it again. But overall, very good and very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Perfect, one of the best pies I have made. Loved Loved Loved it. I used canned tart cherries as fresh cherries are out of season and besides that A LOT of work. Canned cherries work good for me and this is the perfect recipe. I drained the cherries and then followed the recipe from there on out. This will be a staple for holiday meals at our house as quite honestly that is the only time I usually make pie. My husbands favorite pie is cherry and i have been looking for a good recipe and this fits the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Wagner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
What can i use instead of shortening? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I used my gram's old crust recipe, but this filling and it was AMAZING! the pot was a little hard to clean, so make sure to use a non-stick pot. I used mainly dark cherries and a little more sugar since I made it for a three year old (The Hello Kitty pie) it was so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieBenes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I thought this was delicious. I used frozen sour cherries (from my tree). I liked the idea of cooking the filling before putting it in the shell. It was so much easier to see just how thick the filling was going to be. I did not use the pie crust recipe given, only because I had some premade which I wanted to use up. My husband commented just how good those cherries tasted. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Pie shell pastry was super easy to make. I'm terrible with pastry and my pie turned out looking like I had some clue what I'm doing. The filling was great with the corn starch. I used only a cup of brown sugar and didn't have any almond extract, but my boyfriend and friends absolutely loved this pie. I'm keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Brett Dussault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I'm writing this review for the filling only as I make my own crust. I used 4 cups frozen dark cherries that I thawed and drained ahead of time. If you are using anything but sour cherries I suggest you reduce the sugar to about 3/4 cup. Also if you are using pure almond extract versus immitation almond extract I suggest adding only 1/8 tsp as using 1/4 tsp overpowered everything else. I suggest putting about 1/4 Cup of the 3/4 cups sugar directly on the bottom crust with about 1Tbs flour and cook your pie on 450 for about 15 mins and then reduce heat for the remainder of the cooking time. This allows the sugar to caramelize on the bottom and prevent a soggy bottom crust. I do this with all my fruit based pies. Note that if you do this then that leaves 1/2 Cup sugar for the filling. Last but not least I agree with other reviewers that you don't need to cook/boil the filling before hand. Just toss the cherries with almond extract, sugar and cornstarch let sit 10 mins and add to pie crust. It will boil in the pie while cooking and will not be liquid at all (make sure you allow enough time for cooling down though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States